exhibition

12.06.2019 – 01.05.2020

11 am - 7 pm

Looking for Oum Kulthum

Shirin Neshat

Azzedine Alaïa foundation

On the occasion of Paris Photo Week, the Association Azzedine Alaïa presents the exhibition, “Looking for Oum Kulthum” by the Iranian artist Shirin Neshat.
Internationally known for her photographic, video, and film work, which reflects the complexity of Islamic society and culture, Neshat offers for the first time in France her new works inspired by the homonymous movie “Looking for Oum Kulthum” unveiled at the Venice Film Festival in 2017.

A film within a film, “Looking for Oum Kulthum” relates the story of Mitra, an Iranian-born director living in exile, who dreams of making a film dedicated to legendary Egyptian singer Oum Kulthum.

Cherished all over the Arab world, the untouchable and controversial figure of Oum Kulthum, the extraordinary singer, political activist, and independent woman in a conservative society – and the powerful fascination she exerts on the public – are the points of departure behind Neshat’s new series of eight photographs and two videos.

  • Ask my Heart, 2018, original print © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • Oum Kulthum, 2018, original print © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • Miss Oum Kulthum, 2018, original print © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • I see you holding back the tears, 2018, original print © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • The first thing about love, 2018, original print © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • The Ruins, 2018, original print © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • Love decided our fate, 2018, original print © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

Inspired by classic 1950’s Egyptian movie posters, the eight photographs feature the actresses of the film in portraits of Oum Kulthum at different stages of her life and career. These are frontal and striking images that attempt to capture the mythical nature of this famous Egyptian diva. Each large portrait carries the title of one of Oum Kulthum’s songs, written with ink on the print in Arabic calligraphy.

The video, “Remembrance” (8:33 minutes) in a dreamlike atmosphere shows a boy led into a space-time labyrinth by the singer’s voice. The young man’s shifting point of view reveals the many facets of Kulthum – her private and melancholic side, her strong presence, and her deep desire for freedom.

In the video “In Trance”(9:43 minutes), the focus is on the mystical power of her music, which is still capable of hypnotizing listeners. This reflection on the ecstatic experience linked to Kulthum’s voice, while revealing the fragility and uncertainties of the young singer, who wonders how to approach her audience at an emotional level, begins to emerge.

shirin neshat exhibition,looking for oum kulthum - video sylvie delpech

This exhibition pays homage to a great artist and to one of Azzedine Alaïa’s great passions. Kulthum’s voice was a constant presence in the Alaïa atelier during his many late nights at work, or through dinner with friends à la cuisine. As he often liked to recall his childhood in Tunisia:

Every first Thursday of the month we had to dine early. We had to stay calm, to make no noise, because my grandfather was trying to catch at the radio the waves coming from Egypt, because Oum Kulthum was singing. This is the first great voice I listened to in my childhood. Azzedine Alaïa

in association with Noirmontartproduction

Loooking for Oum Kulthum,2018, original print © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

SHIRIN NESHAT

Born in Qazvin, Iran, Neshat moved to the United States at a very young age to pursue her education and was forced to remain there because of Khomeini’s revolution, which imposed a Shiite Islamic republic in Iran at the end of the 1970s. Neshat returned to her country fifteen years later, and found the profound social changes caused by the new regime would mark her existence going forward through her artistic researches.
Her work centers on the contrasts between Islam and the West; femininity and masculinity; public life and private life; antiquity and modernity; and bridges the spaces between these subjects. From the first and iconic photographic series entitled Women of Allah (1993-97), composed of black and white female portraits with overlapping inscriptions in Farsi (Persian), Neshat’s work soon expanded to video and films that would earn her important awards such as the Golden Lion at the 1999 Art Biennale, with the video installation Turbulent (1998), and the Silver Lion at the Venice Film Festival in 2009, with her first film work entitled Women Without Men, dedicated to Iran in 1953.
The Broad Museum, Los Angeles, presents a largest retrospective, and catalogue, of the artist Shirin Neshat: I Will Greet the Sun Again, from October 19th 2019 – February 16th 2020.

The Broad Museum de Los Angeles présente du 19 octobre 2019 au 16 février 2020 une rétrospective majeure de l’artiste, accompagnée du catalogue Shirin Neshat : I Will Greet the Sun Again.

Exposition

06.12.2019 – 05.01.2020

11h – 19h

Looking for Oum Kulthum

Shirin Neshat

fondation azzedine alaïa

À l’occasion de Paris Photo, l’Association Azzedine Alaïa présente l’exposition “Looking for Oum Kulthum“ de l’artiste iranienne Shirin Neshat.

Reconnue internationalement pour son travail photographique, vidéo et cinématographique reflétant la complexité de la société et de la culture islamiques, Neshat présente pour la première fois en France ses nouvelles œuvres inspirées du film “Looking for Oum Kulthum“ dévoilé au Festival du Film de Venise en 2017.

Un film dans un film, “Looking for Oum Kulthum“ relate l’histoire de Mitra, une réalisatrice iranienne vivant en exil, qui rêve de tourner un film dédié à la chanteuse égyptienne légendaire Oum Kulthum. La figure intouchable et controversée d’Oum Kulthum, chanteuse extraordinaire, militante politique et femme indépendante dans une société conservatrice, chérie dans le monde arabe – et la puissante fascination qu’elle exerce sur le public – sont les points de départ de la nouvelle série de Neshat de huit photographies et deux vidéos.

  • Ask my Heart, 2018, photographie originale © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • Oum Kulthum, 2018, photographie originale © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • Miss Oum Kulthum, 2018, photographie originale © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • I see you holding back the tears, 2018, photographie originale. © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • The first thing about love, 2018, photographie originale © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • The Ruins, 2018, photographie originale © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

  • Love decided our fate, 2018, photographie originale © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

Traitées dans le style des affiches de film typiques des années 1950 en Égypte, les huit photographies mettent en scène les actrices du film dans des portraits d’Oum Kulthum à des périodes différentes de sa vie et de sa carrière… Des images frontales et marquantes, qui tentent de saisir la personnalité mythique de la célèbre diva égyptienne. Chacun de ces portraits de grand format porte le titre d’une chanson d’Oum Kulthum, inscrit à l’encre sur le tirage en calligraphie farsi ou arabe.

La vidéo “Remembrance” (8:33 minutes), dans une atmosphère onirique, montre un garçon plongé dans un labyrinthe spatio-temporel par la voix de la chanteuse. Le point de vue changeant du jeune homme révèle les nombreuses facettes de Kulthum – son côté privé et mélancolique, sa forte présence et son profond désir de liberté.

Dans la vidéo “In Trance”(9:43 minutes), l’accent est mis sur le pouvoir mystique de sa musique, qui est encore capable d’hypnotiser les auditeurs. Cette réflexion sur l’extase liée à la voix de Kulthum, tout en révélant la fragilité et les incertitudes de la jeune chanteuse, qui se demande comment aborder son auditoire sur un plan émotionnel, commence à émerger.

exposition shirin neshat, looking for oum kulthum - vidéo sylvie delpech

Cette exposition rend hommage à une grande artiste et à l’une des grandes passions d’Azzedine Alaïa.La voix de Kulthum était une présence constante dans l’atelier Alaïa lors de ses nombreuses soirées tardives au travail ou lors des dîners avec ses amis à la cuisine. Comme il aimait souvent le rappeler, dans son enfance en Tunisie :

Chaque premier jeudi du mois, nous devions dîner tôt. Nous devions rester calmes, ne pas faire de bruit, car mon grand-père essayait de capter à la radio les ondes venant d’Egypte, car Oum Kulthum chantait. C’est la première grande voix que j’ai écoutée dans mon enfance. Azzedine Alaïa

En collaboration avec Noirmontartproduction

Loooking for Oum Kulthum ,2018, photographie originale. © Shirin Neshat courtesy noirmontartproduction, Paris

SHIRIN NESHAT

Née à Qazvin, en Iran, Neshat a déménagé aux États-Unis à un très jeune âge pour des raisons d’études et a été contrainte d’y rester à cause de la révolution de Khomeiny qui a imposé une république islamique chiite en Iran à la fin des années 1970. Neshat rentre dans son pays quinze ans plus tard et découvre que les profondes mutations sociales provoquées par le nouveau régime marqueront son existence dans le futur grâce à ses recherches artistiques.
Son travail est centré sur les contrastes entre Islam et Occident, féminité et masculinité; vie publique et vie privée; antiquité et modernité; et relie les espaces entre ces sujets. À partir de la première série photographique emblématique intitulée Women of Allah (1993-1997), composée de portraits de femmes en noir et blanc avec des inscriptions superposées en farsi (persan), le travail de Neshat s’est rapidement étendu à la vidéo et aux films, lui permettant de remporter d’importantes récompenses telles que le Lion d’Or à la Biennale des Arts de 1999, avec l’installation vidéo Turbulent (1998) et le Lion d’Argent au Festival du Film de Venise en 2009, avec son premier film intitulé Women Without Men, consacré à l’Iran en 1953.
The Broad Museum de Los Angeles présente du 19 octobre 2019 au 16 février 2020 une rétrospective majeure de l’artiste, accompagnée du catalogue Shirin Neshat : I Will Greet the Sun Again.