signing

12.14.2022

7pm

by invitation only

Decentralizing Fashion

fashion research symposium

azzedine alaïa foundation

  • decentralizing fashion magazine

  • decentralizing fashion magazine

“Decentralizing Fashion” is published in correspondence with the inaugural Fashion Research Symposium. Co-organized by the National Museum of Art, Architecture and Design, and International Library of Fashion Research, the symposium is a two-day event for fashion research,  knowledge-sharing and critical discourse. The theme for 2022 is “Decentralizing Fashion”, and it builds on the research project “Norwegian Fashion: Cultural Production and Aesthetic Mediational Practices.” 

“Decentralizing Fashion”considers fashion practice in the comparatively small creative ecosystems that exist around the world. It opens up a dialogue on concentration and dispersion, on center and periphery of fashion. How can places other than the established “fashion capitals” be central in artistic or creative development? Could fashion thrive in unlikely localities? Can fashion exist anywhere?

Will participate to this event Elise By Olsen, Founder and Director of International Library of Fashion Research, Else Skålvoll Thorenfeldt, Head of communications, International Library of Fashion Research, Marco Pecorari, Director MA Fashion Studies, The New School Parsons in Paris and Olivier Saillard, Director of the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation.

Signature

14.12.2022

19h

sur invitation

Decentralizing Fashion

fashion research symposium

fondation azzedine alaïa

  • decentralizing fashion magazine

  • decentralizing fashion magazine

« Decentralizing Fashion» est publié en correspondance avec l’inaugural Fashion Research Symposium. Organisé conjointement par le National Museum of Art, Architecture and Design et l’International Library of Fashion Research, le symposium est un événement de deux jours consacré à la recherche sur la mode, au partage des connaissances et au discours critique. Le thème de 2022 est «Décentraliser la mode», et il s’appuie sur le projet de recherche «Norwegian Fashion : Production culturelle et pratiques de médiation esthétique». 

«Decentralizing Fashion» examine la pratique de la mode dans les écosystèmes créatifs relativement petits qui existent dans le monde. Il ouvre un dialogue sur la concentration et la dispersion, sur le centre et la périphérie de la mode. Comment des lieux autres que les «capitales de la mode» établies peuvent-ils être au cœur du développement artistique ou créatif ? La mode pourrait-elle prospérer dans des localités improbables ? La mode peut-elle exister partout ?

Participeront à cet évènement Elise By Olsen, fondatrice et directrice de International Library of  Fashion Research, Else Skålvoll Thorenfeldt, directrice de la communication, International Library of Fashion Research, Marco Pecorari, directeur du Master en Fashion Studies, The New School Parsons à Paris et Olivier Saillard, directeur de la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa.