Exhibition 06.22.2024 - 04.06.2025

NAOMI: IN FASHION

Naomi Campbell and Azzedine Alaïa, Paris, 1988, Fall-winter 1988 collection ph. Arthur Elgort

"NAOMI: In Fashion" explores the unequalled 40-year career of fashion model and cultural icon Naomi Campbell. Her work with leading photographers created some of the era's most memorable images. Simultaneously she moved beyond the world of fashion, performing in music videos, launching her own perfume and becoming a champion of diversity.

The exhibition draws upon Campbell's own extensive wardrobe of haute couture and ready-to-wear ensembles from key moments in her career, along with loans from designer archives and objects from the V&A's collections.

A section focuses on Campbell's close personal and professional relationship with the designer Azzedine Alaïa – who she met during her first days in Paris and would come to call 'Papa'. Famed for his figure-hugging designs, Alaïa saw Campbell's sculptural physique as 'a perfect body', which inspired much of this work. Together, the pair created runway magic and editorial gold.

  • Naomi Campbell, ready-to-wear, Fall-Winter 1991 ph.DR

  • Dress, worn by Naomi Campbell, designed by Azzedine Alaïa, Spring-Summer 1990 ph.Andrea&Valentina

  • Dress, worn by Naomi Campbell, designed by Azzedine Alaïa, couture 1997 ph.Andrea&Valentina

Exposition 22.06.2024 - 06.04.2025

NAOMI: IN FASHION

Naomi Campbell et Azzedine Alaïa, Paris, 1988, collection Automne-hiver 1988 ph. Arthur Elgort

" NAOMI : In Fashion" explore les 40 ans de carrière inégalée de Naomi Campbell, mannequin de mode et icône culturelle. Son travail avec les plus grands photographes a permis de créer certaines des images les plus mémorables de l'époque. Simultanément, elle a dépassé le monde de la mode en jouant dans des clips musicaux, en lançant son propre parfum et en devenant une championne de la diversité. 

L'exposition s'appuie sur la vaste garde-robe de Campbell, composée d'ensembles de haute couture et de prêt-à-porter datant des moments clés de sa carrière, ainsi que sur des prêts d'archives de créateurs et d'objets provenant des collections du V&A.

Une section  se concentre sur les relations personnelles et professionnelles étroites qu'entretenait Naomi Campbell avec le styliste Azzedine Alaïa, qu'elle a rencontré lors de ses premiers jours à Paris et qu'elle a fini par appeler "Papa". Célèbre pour ses créations moulantes, Alaïa voyait dans le physique sculptural de Campbell "un corps parfait", ce qui a inspiré une grande partie de son travail. Ensemble, ils ont créé la magie des défilés et l'or des rédactions.

  • Naomi Campbell, prêt-à-porter Automne-hiver 1991 ph.DR

  • Robe, portée par Naomi Campbell, créée par Azzedine Alaïa, printemps/été 1990 ph.Andrea&Valentina

  • Robe, portée par Naomi Campbell, créée par Azzedine Alaïa, couture 1997 ph.Andrea&Valentina