Exhibition 06.24.2024 - 01.12.2025

Alaïa/kuramata

Lightness in creation
Curated by Carla Sozzani and Olivier Saillard

shiro kuramata, how high the moon, steel mesh armchair, 1986 ph. DR

How high is the moon is a steel mesh armchair created and designed by Shiro Kuramata in 1986, and one of the pieces that Azzedine Alaïa chose to include when expanding his collection from the 2000s onwards. "To escape the chiffon", the facetious couturier liked to say, appreciating Kuramata's lightness, humour and relationship with sculpture that they both shared.

"The biggest problem, explained the Japanese designer, is gravity, and we need to think of a way to erase it." With a parsimony that aims for perfection, his creations are sharp responses to the harmony of things and objects.

Azzedine Alaïa, Long dress in gold viscose knit with horizontal stripes and circles embroidered with glass beads ph. Andrea&Valentina

An unconditional admirer, the couturier devoted an exhibition here in 2005 to Shiro Kuramata, who died in 1991. Twenty years later and for the first time, the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation once again wished to celebrate one of the greatest designers of his time by bringing together a rigorous selection of the couturier's dresses and fashion creations. Gathered according to impressions of materials, shapes or common spirits, the lurex knit of a refined dress responds to the knitted metal of a seat, the transparent acrylic of a maze-like shelf resonates in the spidery muslins of a haute couture design.

More than twenty exceptional pieces of furniture and objects by Shiro Kuramata (1934-91) are on show. The exhibition features almost twenty haute couture creations by Azzedine Alaïa, with their poetic shapes, radical cuts, subtle colours and refined transparencies. With their infinite lightness, the works brought together face to face affirm their shared desire for abstraction, which was anything but virtual.

All the creations and works presented by Shiro Kuramata and Azzedine Alaïa come from the collections of the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation.

shiro kuramata, Laputa, 1991 ph. DR

GUIDED TOURS OF THE EXHIBITIONS

The Foundation offers guided tours of the current exhibition at 18 rue de la Verrerie in partnership with the cultural mediation agency Des Mots et des Arts  which organizes tours led by professionals specializing in fashion history. They offer visitors an overview of the current exhibition, the life and work of Azzedine Alaïa, as well as the location’s history and architecture.

Exposition 24.06.2024 - 12.01.2025

Alaïa/kuramata

la légèreté en création
Sous le commissariat de Carla Sozzani et Olivier Saillard

shiro kuramata, how high the moon, fauteuil en maille d'acier, 1986 ph. DR

Comme la lune est haute dans le ciel (how high is the moon) est un fauteuil en maille d’acier imaginé et conçu par Shiro Kuramata en 1986 faisant partie des pièces qu’Azzedine Alaïa a souhaité collectionner à partir des années 2000. « Pour s’échapper du chiffon » aimait à dire le couturier facétieux qui appréciait chez Kuramata la légèreté, l’humour et la relation à la sculpture qu’ils partageaient tous les deux.

« Le plus grand problème, expliquait le designer japonais, c’est la gravité, nous devons réfléchir à un moyen de l’effacer. » D’une parcimonie qui vise la perfection, ses créations sont des réponses affutées à l’équilibre des choses et des objets.

Azzedine Alaïa, Robe longue en maille de viscose dorée à bandes horizontales et cercles brodés en perles de verre ph. Andrea&Valentina

Admirateur inconditionnel, le couturier avait de son vivant en 2005 consacré une exposition en ces lieux à Shiro Kuramata, disparu en 1991. Vingt années plus tard et pour la première fois, la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa a souhaité de nouveau célébrer l’un des plus grands designers de son temps en associant un choix rigoureux de robes et de créations de mode du couturier. Réunis selon des impressions de matériaux, de formes ou d’esprits communs, la maille lurex d’une robe épurée répond au métal tricoté d’une assise, l’acrylique transparent d’une étagère dédale, résonne dans les mousselines arachnéennes d’un modèle haute couture.

Plus de vingt pièces de mobilier et objets d’exception de Shiro Kuramata (1934-91) sont présentées. En regard, près de vingt créations haute couture d’Azzedine Alaïa entretiennent la poésie des formes, la radicalité d’une coupe, le choix subtil d’une couleur, le raffinement des transparences. D’une infinie légèreté les œuvres réunies face à face affirment les volontés d’abstraction communes qui n’avaient rien de virtuel.

Toutes les créations et les œuvres présentées de Shiro Kuramata et de Azzedine Alaïa sont issues des collections de la fondation Azzedine Alaïa.

shiro kuramata, Laputa, 1991 ph. DR

VISITES COMMENTÉES DE L' EXPOSITION

La Fondation propose des visites guidées de l’exposition en cours au 18 rue de la Verrerie en partenariat avec l’agence de médiation culturelle Des Mots et des Arts  qui organise les visites commentées avec un guide conférencier spécialisé en histoire de la mode. Elles offrent aux visiteurs un aperçu sur l’exposition en cours ainsi que sur la vie et l’œuvre d’Azzedine Alaïa, l’histoire du lieu et son architecture.