azzedine alaïa's work

I work on a model, it’s as if I were working clay. I mould, I build things together, I take them apart, I stitch, I unstitch. I can redo and alter the same sleeve endlessly. It is through the endless execution of the same gestures and an infinite number of new attempts, by the work of my hands that I taught myself about how clothes are cut, and undoubtedly how I have to some extent unraveled the mystery. Azzedine Alaïa

Azzedine Alaïa, curator at heart, carefully preserved all of his work since the beginning of his career beneath the historic vaults located underneath the buildings that stretch from the rue de la Verrerie to the rue de Moussy.

It was his secret cavern where no one was permitted to enter. Covering some 800 square meters, with grand volumes, almost 4 meter high ceilings, and dozens of red brick pillars and metal beams, this space which for a time was used as a warehouse for the Bazar de l’Hôtel de Ville, supports the entire building: exhibition halls with the large glass roof whose courtyard façade surmounted by a stone pediment is a listed historic monument, the atelier of Monsieur Alaïa and his private apartments.

This immense space at 18 rue de la Verrerie bore witness to the incessant comings and goings of the couturier who would come to deposit there, year after year, his collections. It has become the memory, the sanctuary and it will remain the guardian of a life’s work.

With the support of the Richemont group, the Foundation undertakes in 2020 important renovation works to meet the standards for preventative conservation as defined by the laws dating January 4th 2002 relative to the museums of France. The space will be air-conditioned and equipped with high-performance water infiltration detection systems and fire safety systems with extinction devices.

I feel like my work is never finished…

  • before renovation PH. ANDREA & VALENTINA

  • RENOVATION, CLEAN-UP AND DEHUMIDIFICATION WORKS PH. ANDREA & VALENTINA

I believe that I can say about my clothes that they are impossible to date, they are made to last.

l'œuvre d'azzedine alaïa

Je travaille sur un mannequin, c’est comme si je manipulais de la glaise. Je moule, je monte, je démonte, je couds, je découds. Je peux reprendre une manche à l’infini. C’est par l’infini des gestes et des essais, par le travail de la main que je me suis initié à la coupe et que sans doute j’en ai percé une partie du mystère. Azzedine Alaïa

Azzedine Alaïa, conservateur dans l’âme, a conservé tout son travail depuis ses débuts sous les voûtes historiques situées au-dessous des immeubles qui vont de la rue de la Verrerie à la rue de Moussy.

C’était son antre secret où personne n’avait le droit d’entrer. D’environ 800 mètres carrés, avec des volumes de près de 4 mètres de hauteur, et des dizaines de piliers en briques rouges et poutrelles métalliques, ce lieu qui servit pendant un temps d’entrepôt au Bazar de l’Hôtel de Ville, soutient tout l’édifice : les salles d’exposition avec la grande verrière dont la façade sur cour surmontée d’un fronton est classée, l’atelier de Monsieur Alaïa et ses appartements.

Cet espace immense du 18 rue de la Verrerie a vu les allées et venues incessantes du couturier venu y déposer, année après année, ses collections. Il en est devenu la mémoire, le sanctuaire et restera le gardien de l’œuvre de toute une vie.

Avec le soutien du groupe Richemont, la Fondation y entreprend en 2020 d’importants travaux pour le rendre conforme aux règles de conservation préventive définies par la Loi du 4 janvier 2002 relative aux Musées de France. L’endroit sera climatisé et pourvu de systèmes performants de détection de fuites et de sécurité incendie avec dispositif d’extinction.

J'ai l'impression que mon travail n'est jamais achevé…

  • avant les travaux ph. Andrea & Valentina

  • les travaux d'assainissement ph. Andrea & Valentina

Je crois pouvoir dire que mes vêtements sont indatables, ils sont faits pour durer.