reading

11.13.2021

6 pm-9 pm

by invitation only

The earth will come to laugh and feast

roger ballen, gabriele tinti

azzedine alaïa foundation

«entwined» Photography, Roger Ballen

“The earth will come to laugh and feast” is a poetic journey through a selection of Roger Ballen’s photographs, which the writer Gabriele Tinti has composed in the form of elegies, prayers and laments.The result is a moving collection of poems and short stories revealing the profound state of existence  the inevitability of suffering, and of our helplessness from pain.

 « The earth will come to laugh and feast » reading by roger ballen of texts written by gabriele tinti - video SD

  • roger ballen ph. Sylvie Delpech

  • roger ballen ph. Sylvie Delpech

Roger Ballen is one of the most important photographers of his generation. Born in New York in 1950, he has lived in Johannesburg, South Africa, since 1980 and first studied psychology at the University of California before working as a photographer.Over the past two decades, Ballen has employed drawings, painting, collage and sculptural techniques to create enigmatic, mysterious sets for his images.

  • Gabriele Tinti ph. Sylvie delpech

  • Gabriele Tinti, roger ballen ph. Sylvie delpech

Gabriele Tinti is an Italian poet and writer. He has written based on some of the masterpieces of ancient art and has worked with many institutions such as the Archaeological Museum of Naples, the J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles, the British Museum in London and many others. His poems have been recited by actors like Abel Ferrara, Malcolm McDowell, Kevin Spacey, Joe Mantegna, Michael Imperioli, Burt Young, Marton Csokas, Alessandro Haber, Robert Davi, Jamie McShane, Vincent Piazza and Franco Nero.

His collection of poetry in association with the artist Roger Ballen was published in 2020 by Powerhouse Books (New York).

Roger Ballen himself will comment on his work and give a reading.

  • «missing eye» Photography, Roger Ballen - poem, gabriele tinti

  • «toenail» Photography, Roger Ballen - poem, gabriele tinti

Signature

13.11.2021

18h-21h

sur invitation

The earth will come to laugh and feast

roger ballen, gabriele tinti

fondation azzedine alaïa

«entwined» photographie, Roger Ballen

 « The earth will come to laugh and feast » est une traversée poétique à travers une sélection de photographies de Roger Ballen, que l’écrivain Gabriele Tinti a composé sous forme d’élégies, de prières et de lamentations. Le résultat est un émouvant recueil de poèmes et de nouvelles révélant l’état profond de l’existence, l’inévitabilité de la souffrance et notre impuissance face à la douleur.

Roger Ballen est l’un des photographes les plus importants du 21e siècle. Né à New York en 1950, il vit à Johannesburg, en Afrique du Sud, depuis 1980 et a d’abord étudié la psychologie à l’université de Californie avant de travailler comme photographe. Au cours des deux dernières décennies, Ballen a utilisé des techniques de dessin, de peinture, de collage et de sculpture pour créer des décors énigmatiques et mystérieux pour ses images.

Gabriele Tinti est un écrivain et poète italien. Il a écrit en s’inspirant de certains chefs-d’œuvre de l’art antique et a collaboré avec de nombreuses institutions comme le Musée archéologique de Naples, le Musée J. Paul Getty à Los Angeles, le British Museum de Londres et tant d’autres. Ses poèmes ont été récités par des acteurs comme Abel Ferrara, Malcolm McDowell, Kevin Spacey, Joe Mantegna, Michael Imperioli, Burt Young, Marton Csokas, Alessandro Haber, Robert Davi, Jamie McShane, Vincent Piazza and Franco Nero.

 Son recueil de poésie en association avec l’artiste Roger Ballen a été publié en 2020 par Powerhouse Books (New York).

  • «missing eye» photographie, Roger Ballen - poème, gabriele tinti

  • «toenail» photographie, Roger Ballen - poème, gabriele tinti

Restez informé
de l'actualité
de la Fondation

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS

Vos données personnelles seront utilisées par la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa pour vous envoyer la newsletter, que vous avez expressément demandé à recevoir. La Fondation Azzedine Alaïa protège vos données. Pour plus d'informations, consultez notre Politique de confidentialité.