Exhibition 09.11.2023 - 04.07.2024

Alaïa / Grès. Beyond Fashion

Curated by Olivier Saillard

Alaïa / Grès. Beyond Fashion ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Silent and secretive, determined to a lifetime of seclusion spent entirely in the workshop, Madame Grès (1903-1993) saw herself as a sculptor. Fully immersed in his work, with the relentless determination of tireless masters, and refusing the media excesses of his profession, Azzedine Alaïa (1935-2017) also studied sculpture at the School of Fine Arts in Tunis. This shared ambition was not corrupted by the fashion trades to which they dedicated themselves with such singularity and success. On the contrary, it elevated the art of draping for one and the art of cutting for the other to the level of guiding principles in the history of fashion.

While there is no evidence that the two couturiers ever crossed paths, their creations undoubtedly did. Apostles of a certain form of simplicity, the seemingly simple creations of Grès and Alaïa hide an inherent complexity in their cut and design. Guided by the fabric that governs their designs and choices, carefully collected for weeks in the decision-making process of shaping a dress, and assured in their selection of monochromatic colors, with a preference for intense black and plaster white, the two couturiers embraced a community of creation and spirit.

The drapery that Grès had elevated to the level of total art since the 1930s is embodied in Alaïa's long, fluid, and pleated dresses. The jersey embraced by the former translates into knitwear and soft materials in the latter's designs. The pursuit of proportion and the precision in cutting, whether for evening or daytime models, unite them.

"Once you find something that is personal and unique," confessed Madame Grès, "you must fully exploit it and pursue its realization without stopping, until the very end." To this, Alaïa later responded, "When an idea imposes itself on you, you have to lasso it, turn around it, and never deviate from it."

For the first time, an unprecedented exhibition brings together the works of Madame Grès and Alaïa. United by their formal principles, their cutting techniques, and the harmonious combinations of fabric and colors they commonly embraced, the evening gowns and day dresses by both couturiers invite visitors to a lesson beyond fashion. Timeless for one, and outside of time for the other, the exhibited creations, totaling 60, restore the dialogue between Grès and Alaïa, two solitary and determined individuals who became sculptors of dresses.

Alaïa / Grès. Beyond Fashion ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

  • Alaïa / Grès. Beyond Fashion ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

  • Alaïa / Grès. Beyond Fashion ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

  • Alaïa / Grès. Beyond Fashion ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Madame Grès, whose real name was Germaine Krebs, began working in the 1930s. In 1933, on rue de Miromesnil in Paris, she joined forces with Julie Barton to open the house Alix Barton, which became Maison Alix in 1934 on rue du Faubourg-Saint-Honoré. She quickly achieved great success with her designs reminiscing of antique statuary and at the same time perfectly adapted to modern life thanks to her own draping technique. Following disputes with her associates, Germaine Krebs founded the house Grès in 1942, an anagram of her husband Serge's first name. She established the white salons of her house and its workshops at 1 rue de la Paix, right in the heart of Paris. Indifferent to the trends and fads of the decades, Madame Grès presented her timeless collections here until 1987. Among her famous clients were Greta Garbo, Marlene Dietrich, Maria Casares, Delphine Seyrig, and Grace Kelly.

Azzedine Alaïa, Franco-Tunisian couturier, has created an exceptional body of work in the fashion industry, earning him his reputation as one of the most talented designers of his generation.
Upon his arrival in Paris in 1956, Azzedine Alaïa worked as a couturier for a private clientele. He was particularly influenced by the timeless elegance of some of his clients, such as Louise de Vilmorin, Arletty, Simone Zehrfuss, Cécile de Rothschild or Greta Garbo.
He presented his first ready-to-wear collection in 1982. He always remained closely connected to women, some of whom became his muses, including Grace Jones and Tina Turner. He also contributed to launching the careers of several models, including Naomi Campbell, Farida Khelfa, Stephanie Seymour, Tatjana Patitz, Cindy Crawford, and Veronica Webb.
Alaïa is one of the last couturiers to master every stage in the design and production of a garment. A master of cut and a worthy successor to the couture masters, he is also a great collector, having acquired over 15,000 pieces, bearing witness to the creations of fashion history in the 19th and 20th centuries. These include 700 dresses by Madame Grès now owned by the foundation that he wished for. A selection of models and photographs are being presented for the first time in the exhibition spaces.

Alaïa / Grès.Beyond Fashion - video Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Alaïa / Grès. Beyond Fashion ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Alaïa / Grès. Beyond Fashion ph. Sylvie Delpech

The exhibition catalogue will be available soon.

GUIDED TOURS OF THE EXHIBITIONS

The Foundation offers guided tours of the current exhibition at 18 rue de la Verrerie in partnership with the cultural mediation agency Des Mots et des Arts  which organizes tours led by professionals specializing in fashion history. They offer visitors an overview of the current exhibition, the life and work of Azzedine Alaïa, as well as the location’s history and architecture.

Alaïa / Grès. Beyond Fashion ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Until 21 January 2024, Azzedine Alaïa is back in the spotlight at the Palais Galliera with an exhibition showcasing the remarkable heritage collection he amassed over the years, and which has never been exhibited before.

Tariff partnership :

Visitors with an Azzedine Alaïa Foundation ticket will benefit from a reduced rate of €13 at the Palais Galliera.

Visitors with a ticket for the Palais Galliera will also benefit from a reduced rate of €7 at the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation.

Palais Galliera, musée de la Mode de Paris, 10 Avenue Pierre 1er de Serbie, 75016 Paris

Exposition 11.09.2023 - 07.04.2024

Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode

Sous le commissariat d'Olivier Saillard

Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Silencieuse et secrète, déterminée jusqu’à la réclusion d’une vie tout entière passée à l’atelier, Madame Grès (1903-1993) se voulait sculptrice. Tout à son œuvre concentré, avec l’obstination des maîtres infatigables, se refusant aux excès médiatiques de sa profession, Azzedine Alaïa (1935-2017) avait de même étudié la sculpture à l’école des Beaux-Arts de Tunis. Cette ambition partagée ne fut pas corrompue par les métiers de la couture auxquels ils se consacrèrent avec tant de singularité et de succès. Elle vint magnifier au contraire l’exercice du drapé pour l’une, celle de la coupe pour le second au point de les situer comme les fils à plomb de l’histoire de la mode.
Si rien ne peut attester que les deux couturiers se sont croisés, leurs créations se sont rencontrées à n’en point douter.  Apôtres d’une certaine forme de dépouillement, les créations de Grès ou d’Alaïa, d’une apparente simplicité dissimulent une complexité extrême parfois de coupe et de conception. Guidés par le tissu qui gouverne leurs dessins et leurs choix, recueillis des semaines durant dans la décision d’un volume de robe à couper, assurés dans l’élection des couleurs monochromes, du noir intense et du blanc plâtre favoris, les deux couturiers ont épousé une communauté de création et d’esprit.

Les drapés que Grès avait érigés en art total depuis les années 1930 s’incarnent dans les robes longues, fluides et plissées d’Alaïa. Le jersey adoubé par la première se traduit en maille et en matériaux souples chez le second. L’exigence des proportions, la rigueur de la coupe qu’il s’agisse de modèles pour le soir ou pour le jour les unit.
« Dès que l’on a trouvé quelque chose de caractère personnel et unique, avouait Madame Grès, il faut l’exploiter à fond et en poursuivre la réalisation sans s’arrêter et jusqu’au bout ». À cela, Alaïa répondait des années plus tard : « Lorsqu’une idée s’impose à soi, il faut s’en saisir au lasso, tourner autour et ne pas en déroger ».

Pour la première fois une exposition inédite associe les œuvres de Madame Grès et celles de Alaïa. Fédérées selon leur principe formel, leurs recherches de coupe, les accords de tissus ou de couleurs qu’elles embrassent communément, les robes du soir ou de jour des deux couturiers convient le visiteur à une leçon au-delà des modes. Intemporelles pour l’une, hors du temps pour l’autre, les créations exposées au nombre de 60 restituent le dialogue de Grès et Alaïa, deux obstinés solitaires devenus sculpteurs de robes.

Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

  • Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

  • Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

  • Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Madame Grès, de son vrai nom Germaine Krebs, a commencé à travailler dans les années 1930. En 1933, rue de Miromesnil à Paris, elle s’associa à Julie Barton pour ouvrir la maison Alix Barton qui devint Maison Alix en 1934, rue du Faubourg-Saint-Honoré. Elle remporte rapidement un vif succès grâce à ses modèles qui évoquent la statuaire antique et qui selon sa propre technique du drapé s’adaptent parfaitement à la vie moderne. À la suite de différends avec ses associés, Germaine Krebs fonda en 1942 la maison Grès, anagramme du prénom de son mari Serge. Elle installa les salons blancs de sa maison et ses ateliers 1, rue de la Paix, au cœur même de Paris. Insensible aux engouements et aux effets de mode des décennies, Madame Grès présente ici même jusqu’en 1987 ses collections hors du temps. Parmi ses clientes célèbres comptent Greta Garbo, Marlene Dietrich, Maria Casares, Delphine Seyrig ou Grace Kelly.

Azzedine Alaïa, couturier franco-tunisien, a réalisé une œuvre exceptionnelle dans le domaine de la mode qui lui vaut d’être considéré comme l’un des plus talentueux créateurs de sa génération.
À son arrivée à Paris en 1956, Azzedine Alaïa exerce son métier de couturier pour une clientèle privée. Il est particulièrement influencé par l’élégance intemporelle de certaines d’entre elles comme Louise de Vilmorin, Arletty, Simone Zehrfuss, Cécile de Rothschild, Greta Garbo.
Il présente sa première collection de prêt-à-porter en 1982.  Il sera toujours au plus près des femmes dont certaines seront ses muses, comme Grace Jones, Tina Turner. Il contribuera à lancer la carrière de plusieurs mannequins comme Naomi Campbell, Farida Khelfa, Stephanie Seymour, Tatjana Patitz, Cindy Crawford, Veronica Webb…
Alaïa figure parmi les derniers couturiers à maîtriser toutes les étapes de la conception et de la réalisation d’un vêtement. Maître de la coupe, digne héritier des maîtres de la Couture il est aussi un grand collectionneur ayant acquis plus de 15 000  pièces, témoins des créations de l’histoire de la mode au XIXe et XXe siècle. Parmi elles 700 robes de Madame Grès figurent à l’inventaire de ce patrimoine aujourd’hui propriété de la fondation qu’il souhaitait de ses vœux. Une sélection de modèles et de photographies sont pour la première fois présentées dans les espaces d’exposition.

Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode - vidéo Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode ph. Sylvie Delpech

Le catalogue de l'exposition sera bientôt disponible.

VISITES COMMENTÉES DE L' EXPOSITION

La Fondation propose des visites guidées de l’exposition en cours au 18 rue de la Verrerie en partenariat avec l’agence de médiation culturelle Des Mots et des Arts  qui organise les visites commentées avec un guide conférencier spécialisé en histoire de la mode. Elles offrent aux visiteurs un aperçu sur l’exposition en cours ainsi que sur la vie et l’œuvre d’Azzedine Alaïa, l’histoire du lieu et son architecture.

Alaïa / Grès. Au-delà de la mode ph. Stéphane Aït Ouarab

Jusqu’au 21 janvier 2024, Azzedine Alaïa est de nouveau mis en lumière au Palais Galliera à travers une exposition qui présente, pour la première fois, sa collection patrimoniale exceptionnelle qu’il a réunie au fil du temps. 

Partenariat tarifaire :

Les visiteurs munis d’un billet de la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa, bénéficieront d’un tarif réduit au Palais Galliera, d’un montant de 13€.

Les visiteurs munis d’un billet du Palais Galliera, bénéficieront également d’un tarif réduit à la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa, d’un montant de 7€.

Palais Galliera, musée de la Mode de Paris, 10 Avenue Pierre 1er de Serbie, 75016 Paris