The design collection

Azzedine Alaïa also had a great love of design and always adorned his living and work spaces with decorative pieces by renowned designers : Le Corbusier, Jean Royère, Marc Newson, Shiro Kuramata, Marius Sabino, Serge Mouille, Jean Prouvé, but also artists friends such as César, Andrée Putman, Kris Ruhs, Pierre Paulin, Angelo Mangiarotti, Ettore Sottsass, Martin Szekely, les Bourellec and many others.

The first to collect Prouvé, his passion led him to purchase in the early 2000s a gas station designed by Jean Prouvé that he turned into his bedroom.

I had some furniture by Jean Prouvé in the maid's room that I lived in on rue Byron, Simone Zerhrfuss had given them to me. Her husband had worked with Prouvé, and she owned a lot of furniture by him. I had the single bed, the table, a chair, and even the bookcase « Tunisie » ! When I left the maid's room, I left them there, thinking at the time that they were just things made of wood. Much later, in the early 80's, I was strolling through the flea market, where I never usually go, and I saw a table, I think it was my old table ! And there was the bookcase too. I asked the seller about them, he was the gallery owner Philippe Jousse, who had just opened. I asked his wife for the prices, and her answer almost gave me a migraine ! I left the gallery and thought to myself “God forgive me, when I of how with my innocence and foolishness I didn't think furniture could be worth anything!”So I went back inside the gallery, and they agreed to sell them to me at a good price… Azzedine Alaïa

azzedine alaïa hotel © azzedine alaïa foundation

The works of Azzedine Alaïa

You have to leave a sign in your life as you are passing through it. Azzedine Alaïa

Azzedine Alaïa, strapless dress with pins, photograph by Jean-Baptiste Mondino

The Foundation's mission is to perpetuate the work and the philosophy of Azzedine Alaïa through the conservation, the preservation, the archiving, the promotion and exhibition to the public of the collections of garments, accessories, sketches, designs, drawings and other objects belonging to the foundation and that constitute the body of creative work of Azzedine Alaïa.

Azzedine Alaïa, curator at heart, carefully preserved all of his work since the beginning of his career beneath the historic vaults located underneath the buildings that stretch from the rue de la Verrerie to the rue de Moussy. It was his secret cavern where no one was permitted to enter. Covering some 800 square meters, with grand volumes, almost 4 meter high ceilings, and dozens of red brick pillars and metal beams, this space which for a time was used as a warehouse for the Bazar de l’Hôtel de Ville, supports the entire building: exhibition halls with the large glass roof whose courtyard façade surmounted by a stone pediment is a listed historic monument, the atelier of Monsieur Alaïa and his private apartments.

This immense space at 18 rue de la Verrerie bore witness to the incessant comings and goings of the couturier who would come to deposit there, year after year, his collections. It has become the memory, the sanctuary and it will remain the guardian of a life’s work.

22,000 pieces of clothing and accessories, preserved by Azzedine Alaia over the seasons that he has sculpted to sublimate women since the 1960s.

With the support of the Richemont group, the Foundation undertakes in 2020 important renovation works to meet the standards for preventative conservation as defined by the laws dating January 4th 2002 relative to the museums of France. The space will be air-conditioned and equipped with high-performance water infiltration detection systems and fire safety systems with extinction devices.

  • before renovation PH. ANDREA & VALENTINA

  • RENOVATION, CLEAN-UP AND DEHUMIDIFICATION WORKS PH. ANDREA & VALENTINA

Composed of three spaces located at different altitudes and connected by staircases in a volume of 1000m², the project articulates the creation of an archive dedicated to the personal collection of the fashion designer Azzedine Alaïa. The space is compartmentalised in order to provide the necessary conditions for the archiving of textile works. Mobile "compactus" cabinets are being implemented to house approximately 15,000 items. Within the framework of this renovation, particular attention is being paid to the scenography of this place. The ensemble enhances the existing vaulted ceiling and solid bricks which constitute a remarkable building heritage from the end of the 19th century.

  • renovation and rehabilitation works ph. Sylvie Delpech

  • renovation and rehabilitation works ph. Sylvie Delpech

  • renovation and rehabilitation works ph. Sylvie Delpech

  • renovation and rehabilitation works ph. Sylvie Delpech

history of fashion

For many years now, I have been buying and receiving the dresses,coats, and jackets that tell the story of the great history of fashion.It has become for me an almost institutional behavior to preserve them… Azzedine Alaïa

A passionate historian, Azzedine Alaïa has been a lifelong collector of the work of the great masters of fashion. The Foundation's mission is to perpetuate Azzedine Alaïa's exceptional private collection through the conservation, the preservation, the archiving, the promotion and exhibition to the public of the collections of garments, accessories, sketches, designs, drawings and photographs.

The archives of the Azzedine Alaïa collection, photograph by Robert Polidori

  • Azzedine Alaïa showing how to drape a dress designed by Vionnet, Azzedine alaïa gallery, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • Azzedine Alaïa showing how to drape a dress designed by Vionnet, Azzedine alaïa gallery, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • Azzedine Alaïa showing how to drape a dress designed by Vionnet, Azzedine alaïa gallery, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • Azzedine Alaïa showing how to drape a dress designed by Vionnet, Azzedine alaïa gallery, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • Azzedine Alaïa showing how to drape a dress designed by Vionnet, Azzedine alaïa gallery, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • Azzedine Alaïa showing how to drape a dress designed by Vionnet, Azzedine alaïa gallery, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • Azzedine Alaïa showing how to drape a dress designed by Vionnet, Azzedine alaïa gallery, 1990 ph. patricia canino

It would be the closure of a great Fashion House that led Azzedine Alaïa to widen the spectrum of his collection to include the great masters of Couture. In 1968, when Cristóbal Balenciaga decided to close his house, Mademoiselle Renée, who had worked for many decades beside the Spanish master and who was concerned about the fate of the dresses, called Azzedine Alaïa and proposed that he come to select some of the dresses to rework them as he wished. Impressed by the maestria of Balenciaga evident in the cut of the dresses, coats, and suits before him, he decided to conserve them exactly as they were for the rest of his life. The vulnerable heritage that he saves reveals to him his vocation as a collector of fashion, in parallel to his own creative work.

“Some months before his passing, Azzedine Alaïa recounted with fondness this moment, which sparked in him a realization of the significance of the history of fashion and a lasting respect which he would continue to cultivate. From that moment onwards, he maintained a growing, soon unbridled interest in all sources of fashion’s collective memory. Because despite his means, limited at first, then more comfortable as his success grew, Alaïa quickly became a collector eager to preserve all things.”
Olivier Saillard, fashion historian, director of the Foundation

Since the end of the 1960s, he would nurture this interest in clothes with specific techniques. He became particularly passionate about clothes from the 1930s and 1950s. By the hundreds, then the thousands, Alaïa surrounded himself with dresses by Paul Poiret, Madame Grès, Madeleine Vionnet, Gabrielle Chanel, Elsa Schiaparelli, and of course Cristóbal Balenciaga.

  • madame grès © DR

  • madame grès © DR

  • madame grès © DR

  • madame grès © DR

He also became a major collector of the work of Adrian, a couturier rarely present in French museums. He and the American couturier had a particular client in common, Greta Garbo. Alaïa’s collection, over one hundred pieces, is a faithful representation of all of the facets of the Hollywood couturier.

  • Adrian, THE COUTURE YEARS 1942-1952 ph. Andrea & VALENTINA

  • Adrian, THE COUTURE YEARS 1942-1952 ph. Andrea & VALENTINA

  • Adrian, THE COUTURE YEARS 1942-1952 ph. Andrea & VALENTINA

  • Adrian, THE COUTURE YEARS 1942-1952 ph. Andrea & VALENTINA

Azzedine Alaïa was also an altruistic collector: in 1987, at the request of Maryline Vigouroux, the wife of the Mayor at the time, he accompanied and provided his support to the city of Marseille in its project to create a museum of fashion. Honorary President of the institution Maison de Mode Méditerranée, he donated 100 Alaïa pieces to help constitute the collection of the fledgling museum, and he would guide them, being a veritable expert and connoisseur of auction sales, in their acquisitions of pieces by Mariano Fortuny, Elsa Schiaparelli, Madeleine Vionnet, etc.

Throughout his life, this compulsive collector would diligently follow auctions and sales, sometimes bidding against fashion museums from all over the world in order to obtain the finest pieces. In 2005, Alaïa takes part in a project of an exceptional auction at Drouot auction house: “La Création en liberté. Univers de Paul et Denise Poiret 1905-1928”. He in fact held in the great glass roofed hall at 18 rue de la Verrerie an exhibition of the items in the sale, comprised entirely of dresses that Paul Poiret had created especially for his wife Denise, and that their descendants had carefully preserved. Of course, Alaïa could not resist the temptation to acquire a number of the pieces.

He also took part in another auction project, held in July of 2009 at Drouot “Elsa Schiaparelli: Wardrobe from 1935 to 1950”, presenting in his gallery a selection of the finest pieces in avant-première before the auction.

"In more than one way, and more often than was expected, Alaïa came to save from perdition or oblivion, the names and garments amongst the most sought after in fashion today, and that now, thanks to him, remain here in France. Tirelessly, the couturier collected the velvet remnants of the past in search of the techniques at work, those which shape the greatest of destinies and came to determine his own." Olivier Saillard

  • Elsa Schiaparelli, Azzedine Alaïa gallery, 2009 ph. sylvie Delpech

  • Elsa Schiaparelli, Azzedine Alaïa gallery, 2009 ph. sylvie Delpech

  • Elsa Schiaparelli, Azzedine Alaïa gallery, 2009 ph. sylvie Delpech

  • Elsa Schiaparelli, Azzedine Alaïa gallery, 2009 ph. sylvie Delpech

He also studied attentively the work of his contemporaries, and acquired, as would an astute curator of contemporary fashion, the most emblematic pieces of his era, with clothes by Jean-Paul Gaultier, Rei Kawakubo, Martin Margiela, Yojhi Yamamoto, Rick Owens, etc.

I want to build a foundation, and put my entire archive in it as well. I want to do some exhibitions eventually. It's something for the young people to see how some of the great couturiers worked.

All of the pieces selected by Monsieur Alaïa testify to his passion as a collector and his love of fashion history. This prestigious collection of the masters of Couture composed and collected over the course of his lifetime is worthy of the greatest fashion museums of the world.
Conscious of its inestimable value and rarity, Azzedine Alaïa decided to bequeath the collection to his eponymous Foundation. This collection constitutes one of the most important departments of the Foundation’s archives, alongside the creations of Azzedine Alaïa.

the art and photography collection

Art came first to me. When fashion tires me, with collections and dresses, I turn my attention to art and I calm down. Azzedine Alaïa

azzedine alaïa, rue de bellechasse, 1966 ph. jean-pierre ronzel

The first important work of art that he purchased was a small scultpure of a Coptic head, bought from a small shop in 1963. He would later learn that this little statuette had once belonged to the Countess Greffulhe, who provided Marcel Proust with the inspiration for the character the Duchess of Guermantes. This piece of art would accompany him throughout his life, like a talisman.

Over the course of his lifetime Azzedine Alaïa also collected paintings, art objects, and the works of by artists friends such as César or Julian Schnabel.

azzedine alaïa, in his room by Jean Prouvé, 2007 PH. floriane de lassée

Photography has always been very important for Azzedine Alaïa, since his youth in Tunisia. Friends with the greatest photographers of our time, for the images for his book  Azzedine Alaïa he called upon Helmut Newton, Peter Lindbergh, Paolo Roversi, Jean-Baptiste Mondino, Ellen von Unwerth, Martine Barrat. Sharing a brotherly friendship with Gilles Bensimon and Jean-Paul Goude, he worked with and collected the work of Horst, Sarah Moon, Irving Penn…

"entre l'art et la mode" carla sozzani collection

conservation

When I see beautiful clothes, I want to keep them, preserve them...clothes, like architecture and art, reflect an era. Azzedine Alaïa

The Foundation’s mission is to preserve, study, create a digital inventory of, and showcase the collections.It will also be responsible for the rotation and protection of the works exhibited and will ensure a detailed documentation of each of the works thanks to a digital database.

The Foundation entrusts a team of professional archivists with the preventive conservation of the collection, its maintenance, restoration and storage.

The Foundation’s role also includes the inventory and conservation of a large collection of documents, drawings, photographs and patterns of the work of Azzedine Alaïa in addition to drawings and photographs from other couture houses, 19th century fabric swatch catalogues, and magazines from 1900 to today.

the preparation of the exhibition at the Borghese Gallery, Rome, 2015 ph. said

La collection design

Azzedine Alaïa nourrit aussi une grande affection pour le design et ornera toujours son environnement de vie et de travail de pièces décoratives, signées de designers renommés: Le Corbusier, Jean Royère, Marc Newson, Shiro Kuramata, Marius Sabino, Serge Mouille, Jean Prouvé, mais aussi d’amis artistes tels que César, Andrée Putman, Kris Ruhs, Pierre Paulin, Angelo Mangiarotti, Ettore Sottsass, Martin Szekely, les Bourellec et tant d’autres.

Premier à collectionner Prouvé, sa passion l’a poussé à acheter au début des années 2000 une station-service dessinée par Jean Prouvé et dont il fit sa chambre.

The service station designed by jean prouvé ph. Florianne de Lassée

J’avais des  meubles de Jean Prouvé dans ma  chambre de bonne rue Byron, Simone Zehrfuss me les avait donnés. Son mari a travaillé avec Prouvé, et elle possédait beaucoup de meubles de lui. J'avais le lit une place, la table, un fauteuil, et même la bibliothèque dite « Tunisie » ! En partant, je les ai laissés en pensant que ce n'était que du bois. Bien plus tard, au début des années 80, je vais me promener aux puces, où je ne mets jamais les pieds, je vois une table, et je crois que c'est la mienne! Et la bibliothèque aussi. Je me renseigne, c'était le galeriste Philippe Jousse, qui venait d'ouvrir. Je demande le prix à sa femme, et sa réponse me donne presque la migraine ! Je sors et je me dis : « Que Dieu me pardonne, quand je pense qu'avec mon innocence et ma bêtise j'ai cru que ces meubles ne valaient rien du tout ! » Alors je suis retourné dans la galerie, et ils m'ont fait un prix… Azzedine Alaïa

hôtel azzedine alaïa © fondation azzedine alaïa

l'œuvre d'azzedine alaïa

Vous devez laisser un signe dans votre vie, pendant que vous la traversez. Azzedine Alaïa

Azzedine Alaïa, robe bustier avec épingles, photographie de Jean-Baptiste Mondino

La Fondation a la mission de pérenniser l'œuvre et l'esprit d'Azzedine Alaïa par la conservation, l'entretien, l'archivage, la mise en valeur et l'exposition au public des vêtements, accessoires, croquis, modèles, dessins qui constituent la création d'Azzedine Alaïa.

Azzedine Alaïa, conservateur dans l’âme, a conservé tout son travail depuis ses débuts sous les voûtes historiques situées au-dessous des immeubles qui vont de la rue de la Verrerie à la rue de Moussy. C’était son antre secret où personne n’avait le droit d’entrer. D’environ 800 mètres carrés, avec des volumes de près de 4 mètres de hauteur, et des dizaines de piliers en briques rouges et poutrelles métalliques, ce lieu qui servit pendant un temps d’entrepôt au Bazar de l’Hôtel de Ville, soutient tout l’édifice : les salles d’exposition avec la grande verrière dont la façade sur cour surmontée d’un fronton est classée, l’atelier de Monsieur Alaïa et ses appartements.

Cet espace immense du 18 rue de la Verrerie a vu les allées et venues incessantes du couturier venu y déposer, année après année, ses collections. Il en est devenu la mémoire, le sanctuaire et restera le gardien de l’œuvre de toute une vie.

22.000 pièces de vêtements et accessoires, conservées conservées par Azzedine Alaia au fil des saisons qu’il sculpta pour sublimer la femme depuis les années 60.

Avec le soutien du groupe Richemont, la Fondation y entreprend en 2020 d’importants travaux pour le rendre conforme aux règles de conservation préventive définies par la Loi du 4 janvier 2002 relative aux Musées de France. L’endroit sera climatisé et pourvu de systèmes performants de détection de fuites et de sécurité incendie avec dispositif d’extinction.

  • avant les travaux ph. Andrea & Valentina

  • les travaux d'assainissement ph. Andrea & Valentina

Composé de trois espaces situés à des altimétries différentes et reliés par des escaliers dans un volume de 1000m², le projet articule la création d’archives dédiées à la collection personnelle du couturier Azzedine Alaïa. L’espace est compartimenté afin de réunir les conditions indispensables à l’archivage d’œuvres textiles. Des armoires mobiles de type «compactus» sont mises en œuvre dans le but d’abriter environ 15 000 pièces. Dans le cadre de cette réhabilitation, une attention particulière est accordée à la scénographie de ce lieu. L’ensemble permet la mise en valeur du plafond existant en voutains et briques pleines qui constitue un héritage bâti remarquable de la fin 19ème.

  • les travaux de rénovation et de réhabilitation ph. Sylvie Delpech

  • les travaux de rénovation et de réhabilitation ph. Sylvie Delpech

  • les travaux de rénovation et de réhabilitation ph. Sylvie Delpech

  • les travaux de rénovation et de réhabilitation ph. Sylvie Delpech

histoire de la mode

Depuis de nombreuses années, j’achète et je reçois les robes, les manteaux, les vestes qui témoignent de la grande histoire de la mode. C’est devenu chez moi une attitude corporative de les préserver… Azzedine Alaïa

Historien passionné, Azzedine Alaïa a collectionné tout le long de sa vie l’œuvre des grands maîtres de la mode. La Fondation a la mission de pérenniser l’exceptionnelle collection privée d’Azzedine Alaïa par la conservation, l’entretien, l’archivage, la mise en valeur et l’exposition au public des ses collections de vêtements, accessoires, croquis, modèles, dessins et photos.

Les archives de la collection d'Azzedine Alaïa, photographie Robert Polidori

  • azzedine alaïa montrant comment draper une robe de vionnet, galerie azzedine alaïa, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • azzedine alaïa montrant comment draper une robe de vionnet, galerie azzedine alaïa, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • azzedine alaïa montrant comment draper une robe de vionnet, galerie azzedine alaïa, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • azzedine alaïa montrant comment draper une robe de vionnet, galerie azzedine alaïa, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • azzedine alaïa montrant comment draper une robe de vionnet, galerie azzedine alaïa, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • azzedine alaïa montrant comment draper une robe de vionnet, galerie azzedine alaïa, 1990 ph. patricia canino

  • azzedine alaïa montrant comment draper une robe de vionnet, galerie azzedine alaïa, 1990 ph. patricia canino

C’est la fermeture d’une grande de Maison de mode qui incitera Azzedine Alaïa à élargir le spectre de sa collection aux grands maîtres de la Couture. En effet, en 1968, quand Cristóbal Balenciaga décide de fermer sa maison, Mademoiselle Renée, restée plusieurs décennies au service du maître espagnol et inquiète du sort des robes, fait appel à Azzedine Alaïa pour lui proposer de choisir les modèles qu’il pourra retailler à sa guise. Impressionné par la maestria de Balenciaga dans la coupe des robes, manteaux et tailleurs qui se présentent à lui, il décide de les conserver en l’état toute sa vie. Ce patrimoine vulnérable qu’il sauve lui révèle, en parallèle de son propre travail créatif, sa vocation de collectionneur de mode.

« A quelques mois de sa disparition, Azzedine Alaïa racontait encore avec tendresse cet épisode fondateur d’une prise de conscience et de l’égard qu’il cultiva ensuite vis-à-vis de l’histoire de la mode. La suite ne fit que confirmer l’intérêt croissant et bientôt irraisonné qu’il entretint avec toutes les sources de mémoires de mode. Car indépendamment de ses moyens, modestes à ses débuts, plus confortables au fur et à mesure de ses succès, Alaïa devint vite un collectionneur avide de tout conserver. »
Olivier Saillard, historien de la mode, directeur de la Fondation

Depuis cette fin des années soixante, il cultive son intérêt pour les vêtements aux techniques certaines. Il se passionne pour la mode des années trente et cinquante. Par centaines, bientôt par milliers, Azzedine Alaïa s’entoure de robes de Paul Poiret, Madame Grès, Madeleine Vionnet, Gabrielle Chanel, Elsa Schiaparelli, et de Cristóbal Balenciaga toujours.

  • madame grès © DR

  • madame grès © DR

  • madame grès © DR

  • madame grès © DR

Il devient aussi un collectionneur majeur du travail d’Adrian, peu représenté dans les musées français. Il a en commun avec le couturier américain une cliente, Greta Garbo. La centaine de pièces de sa collection est une représentation fidèle de toutes les facettes du couturier hollywoodien.

  • Adrian, les années couture 1942-1952 ph. Andrea & VALENTINA

  • Adrian, les années couture 1942-1952 ph. Andrea & VALENTINA

  • Adrian, les années couture 1942-1952 ph. Andrea & VALENTINA

  • Adrian, les années couture 1942-1952 ph. Andrea & VALENTINA

Azzedine Alaïa était aussi un collectionneur altruiste : en 1987, sur une initiative de Maryline Vigouroux, l’épouse du maire d'alors, il accompagne et soutient la Ville de Marseille à se doter d’un musée de mode. Président d’honneur de l’institution Maison Mode Méditerranée, il fait une donation de 100 pièces Alaïa pour aider à constituer le patrimoine du jeune musée qu’il guidera, en véritable expert et fin connaisseur des ventes, dans ses projets d’acquisition avec des pièces de Mariano Fortuny, Elsa Schiaparelli, Madeleine Vionnet, etc.

Toute sa vie, ce collectionneur compulsif suivra avec assiduité les ventes aux enchères, surenchérissant parfois contre les musées de mode du monde entier pour obtenir les meilleures pièces. En 2005, Alaïa s’associe à une vente exceptionnelle organisée à Drouot : « La Création en liberté. Univers de Paul et Denise Poiret 1905-1928 ». Il va en effet accueillir, sous la verrière du 18 rue de la Verrerie, l’exposition de la vente constituée des robes que Paul Poiret avait créées spécialement pour son épouse Denise, conservées par leurs descendants. Bien sûr, il ne résistera pas à la tentation d’acquérir plusieurs pièces.

Il s’associera à une autre vente, organisée en juillet 2009 à Drouot : « Elsa Schiaparelli : Garde-robe de 1935 à 1950 » en présentant dans sa galerie une sélection des plus belles pièces en avant-première des enchères.

« A plus d’un égard, et plus souvent qu’à son tour, Alaïa vint sauver de l’oubli et de la perte les noms et les pièces vestimentaires les plus convoités aujourd’hui de la mode, grâce à lui demeurés sur le territoire français. Sans répit, le couturier additionnait les vestiges de velours à la recherche d’une technique à l’œuvre, celle qui façonne les grands destins et qui détermina le sien. » Olivier Saillard

  • Elsa Schiaparelli, galerie Azzedine Alaïa, 2009 ph. sylvie Delpech

  • Elsa Schiaparelli, galerie Azzedine Alaïa, 2009 ph. sylvie Delpech

  • Elsa Schiaparelli, galerie Azzedine Alaïa, 2009 ph. sylvie Delpech

  • Elsa Schiaparelli, galerie Azzedine Alaïa, 2009 ph. sylvie Delpech

Il regarde aussi avec attention le travail des couturiers de son temps, et acquiert, comme le ferait un conservateur de mode contemporaine avisé, les pièces les plus emblématiques de son époque avec des vêtements de Jean-Paul Gaultier, Rei Kawakubo, Martin Margiela, Yohji Yamamoto, Rick Owens, etc.

 

Je veux créer une fondation, et y mettre toutes mes archives. Je veux aussi faire des expositions. C’est important pour les jeunes, de voir comment certains des grands couturiers ont travaillé.

Tous les modèles choisis et voulus par Monsieur Alaïa témoignent de la passion du collectionneur et de l’amour qu’il nourrissait pour l’histoire de la mode. Cette prestigieuse collection des maîtres de la Couture assemblée et réunie tout au long de sa vie est digne des plus grands musées de mode.
Conscient de sa valeur inestimable et rare, Azzedine Alaïa a souhaité la transmettre à sa Fondation éponyme. Cette collection constitue aujourd’hui l’un des départements les plus importants des archives de la Fondation, aux côtés des créations d’Azzedine Alaïa.

la collection art et photographie

L’Art est venu en premier. Quand la mode me fatigue, avec les collections et les robes, je me tourne vers l’art et je m'apaise. Azzedine Alaïa

azzedine alaïa, rue de bellechasse, 1966 ph. Jean-pierre Ronzel

Sa première œuvre d’art majeure est une petite sculpture de tête copte, qu’il achète en 1963 dans un petit magasin. Il apprendra plus tard que cette statuette avait appartenu à la comtesse Greffulhe, qui inspira à Marcel Proust la figure de la Duchesse de Guermantes. Cette œuvre tel un talisman l’accompagnera toute sa vie.

Au cours de son existence  Azzedine Alaia a également collectionné des peintures, des objets d’art, et des œuvres d’amis artistes comme César ou Julian Schnabel.

La photographie a toujours eu une grande importance pour Azzedine Alaïa, depuis sa jeunesse en Tunisie. Ami des plus grands photographes de notre époque, il a fait appel pour les images de son livre  Azzedine Alaïa à Helmut Newton, Peter Lindbergh, Paolo Roversi, Jean Baptiste Mondino, Bruce Weber, Ellen von Unwerth, Martine Barrat. Lié d’amitié fraternelle avec Gilles Bensimon et Jean Paul Goude, il a aussi travaillé et collectionné les œuvres de Horst, Sarah Moon, Irving Penn…

vue de l'exposition "Entre l'art et la mode", collection carla sozzani

conservation

Quand je vois de beaux vêtements, je veux les garder, les préserver...les vêtements, comme l'architecture et l'art, reflètent une époque. Azzedine Alaïa

La Fondation a pour vocation la conservation, l'étude, l’inventaire numérisé et la promotion des collections. Elle gère aussi la rotation et la protection des œuvres exposées et assure la documentation détaillée de chaque œuvre grâce à une base de données informatisée.

La Fondation confie à une équipe d’archivistes professionnels la conservation préventive des collections dans leur entretien, leur restauration et leur stockage.

La Fondation a aussi pour rôle d’inventorier et de conserver un important fonds documentaire de dessins, de photographies et des patrons de l’œuvre d’Azzedine Alaïa ainsi que des dessins et photographies de maisons de couture, des livres d’échantillons de tissus du XIXeme siècle, des magazines de 1900 à nos jours.

La préparation de l'exposition à la galerie Borghese, rome, 2015 ph. said