ARCHIVING FASHION

I have to archive everything, all the big ones who have left their mark and who play a big role in the history of fashion. I will also have every single one of my own collections, in several variations. Azzedine Alaïa

azzedine alaïa © azzedine alaïa foundation

Conserving and preserving the collections, treasures of patience and passion that Azzedine Alaïa built over almost five decades, is the first and fundamental mission of the Foundation that Azzedine Alaïa adamantly calls for.

” When Azzedine founded the Azzedine Alaïa Association in 2007, he wanted it to become a foundation of public interest. He wanted these treasures bringing together sixty years of his work and his vast collection of art, design and fashion pieces he had collected since 1968 to be displayed to the public and studied by young designers and fashion designers. He wanted to share his knowledge with future generations.”

“Under the leadership of Olivier Saillard, the future of the Foundation will meet the most ambitious objectives, with exhibitions, conferences, courses, and Alaïa scholarships. Archiving this huge collection is the first step and a crucial part of the process to make Azzedine’s dream come true.”

Carla Sozzani and Christoph von Weyhe

THE MODULE OF THE MASTERS PROGRAM 

The Foundation’s Partneship with Parsons School

 

Since 2019, the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation and the Parsons Paris school of art and design, have come together to create a research partnership focusing on the incredible collection constituted by Azzedine Alaïa. This collaboration aims to publicize one of the greatest collections of historical Haute Couture fashion in the world, whilst simultaneously presenting to students the principles and the ideologies particular to the archiving of fashion.

Affiliated to the Parsons School of Design in New York, the Masters Degree program in Fashion Studies at the Parson Paris school is the first program in this particular domain to become available in France, and one of very few available in the world. In this program, fashion is examined as a cultural phenomenon involving all practices linked to the production, the diffusion, the representation, and the consumption of garments. The Fashion Studies program focuses notably on questions of mondialisation, sustainable development, heritage conservation, identity and day-to-day consumption of garments, technological innovation, the future of digital fashion, etc. Particular attention is paid to the interaction between theory and practice and students cover all of these subjects with seminaries, conferences and master-classes led by professors and professionals in fashion.

The module of the Masters program on which the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation and the Parson’s school collaborate looks at archiving practices and the Couture pieces of the private collection gathered by the couturier. This collection rich in over 8000 exceptional historical pieces by Paul Poiret, Elsa Schiaparelli, Madame Grès or Madeleine Vionnet for example, but also by more avant-garde designers of the late 20th century (Martin Margiela, Comme des Garçons, Yohji Yamamoto) is in the process of being inventoried.

“This is a unique opportunity for students in Fashion Studies at Parsons School of Design. The archive of Monsieur Alaïa is one of the most extensive and unique archives in the history of fashion. It is not only a history of couture but also a crucial testimony to the ways in which Azzedine Alaïa collected other designers and couturiers. Archives of fashion are not only assemblages of garments but they are an opportunity to rethink fashion and the ways in which it remains.” Marco Pecorari, Program Director MA Fashion Studies, The New School Parsons Paris.

2020 « ARCHIVER LA MODE » PAUL POIRET

under the direction of Marco Pecorari

 

A friend of mine, Françoise Auguet organised the sale of clothes from the Poiret collection. The family wanted to sell everything, everything that Madame Poiret had worn and that had enchanted all of Paris. It broke my heart. I admired her husband a lot.

  • azzedine alaïa in his gallery ph. azzedine alaïa foundation

  • paul poiret exhibition, azzedine alaïa gallery ph. azzedine alaïa foundation

  • paul poiret exhibition, azzedine alaïa gallery ph. azzedine alaïa foundation

  • paul poiret exhibition, azzedine alaïa gallery ph. azzedine alaïa foundation

The students of the Parsons Paris school were asked to work on the subject of the economical and cultural value of fashion, which has evolved greatly over the course of the last thirty years. Fashion has begun to be more and more frequently exhibited in museums. Important auction houses have opened departments specifically dedicated to fashion and regularly organize auctions of clothing, accessories and fashion photographs. Couture houses have become aware of the importance of preserving their archives, and they organize more and more events and activities centered around their own heritage, and private foundations and museums dedicated to designers of fashion are emerging.

Azzedine Alaïa was a visionary in that he became aware very early of this heritage value : from the creation of his house, he scrupulously preserved everything that was produced in his atelier and began in 1968 his collection of historical fashion.

I offered my place to this friend as a base to choose the clothes, clean them and exhibit them. I suggested inviting photographers to make sure there’d be some trace of it. In the end, the exhibition did take place. We discovered pieces of unimaginable quality, and there was even a catalogue. It was fantastic.

To examine this subject, the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation provided the students of the Master’s program with an excellent case study, that of one of the most important auctions in the world: “La creation en liberté. Univers de Denise et Paul Poiret” organized by the auction house Piasa Paris in May of 2005, with the support of Monsieur Alaïa who presented at 18 rue de la Verrerie a large exhibition of the Poiret collection. This auction constitutes a landmark in the history of auctions of fashion.

The students of the Master’s program worked on the historic impact of this auction for museums and collectors, whilst having the opportunity to study pieces from the auction, purchased by Azzedine Alaïa and which are now in the care of the Foundation.

The results of their research are to be rendered in December 2020, with the publication of a book.

  • archiving fashion © parsons paris

  • archiving fashion © parsons paris

  • gaël mamine © parsons paris

  • gaël mamine © parsons paris

  • archiving fashion © parsons paris

2019 “ARCHIVING FASHION” CRISTÓBAL BALENCIAGA

in collaboration with the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum of New York, curators Jessica Glasscock and Marco Pecorari

I started collecting in 1968 when Balenciaga closed his house. I was already at Bellechasse. One  of the dresses was from the 1955 runway show. There were the tags with the names of the models. All of a sudden I had this shock about haute couture. I said : It’s sad that the house closes, and everything disappears. So I began to collect.

Under the direction of Jessica Glasscock, associate researcher at the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum of New York, the students discovered in the first semester the cataloguing practices before reflecting on possible innovations for the indexation of museum archives. Concentrating on the works of Cristobal Balenciaga carefully gathered by Azzedine Alaïa, the students also explored means of documentation through textual, visual, and oral recordings.

balenciaga ph. DR

Over a period of three weeks, from July 1st to July 18th 2019, the students had the unique opportunity to work on one of the greatest collections of fashion, in the archives of the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation. The course explored the historical collections assembled by Azzedine Alaïa over the course of his life, with a particular focus on one part of his Balenciaga collection.

During the Paris Haute Couture Fashion Week 2019, the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation and the Parsons Paris school held the first conference of their educational program “Archiving Fashion” and presented their first summer course for Master’s students in the courtyard of 18 rue de la Verrerie, on the theme “Archiving Fashion”.

This event open to the public presented the results of the work of the students and initiated exchanges on the practice of archiving historical fashion heritage with the participation of specialists: Marie-Andrée Jouve (author and fashion historian), Christoph von Weyhe (Founder of the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation), Olivier Saillard (fashion historian, Azzedine Alaïa Foundation board member), et Jessica Glasscock (Costume Institute of The Metropolitan Museum of New York).

jessica Glasscock ph. Julien Mouffron-Gardner

“I feel tremendously lucky to have access to the Alaïa archive and, through it, a chance to investigate a true 20th century master designer through the works he collected. Most of all, I am excited to connect students with Monsieur Alaïa’s lifetime of collecting. I have been working in museums and as a fashion professor for nearly two decades, and I know what an incredible opportunity is being offered to students in this moment.” Jessica Glasscock, Research Associate, Costume Institute, The Metropolitan Museum of New York.

  • archiving fashion © parsons paris

  • archiving fashion © parsons paris

  • archiving fashion © parsons paris

  • archiving fashion © parsons paris

  • archiving fashion © marco pecorari

jessica glasscock extract from the conference archiving fashion © azzedine alaïa foundation

ph. Julien Mouffron-Gardner

archiver la mode

Je dois tout archiver, tous les grands qui ont laissé leur empreinte et qui jouent un grand rôle dans l'histoire de la mode. J'aurai également chacune de mes propres collections, dans plusieurs variations. Azzedine Alaïa

azzedine alaïa © fondation azzedine alaïa

Conserver, préserver les collections, trésors de patience et de passion que Azzedine Alaïa a constituées en presque cinquante ans est la mission première et fondamentale de la Fondation que le couturier appelait de tous ses vœux.

« Quand Azzedine a fondé l’Association Azzedine Alaïa en 2007, il souhaitait qu’elle devienne une Fondation d’intérêt public. Il voulait que ces trésors réunissant 60 ans de son travail et sa vaste collection de pièces d’art, de design et de mode qu’il collectionnait depuis 1968 soient exposés au public et étudiés par les jeunes créateurs et designers de mode. Il voulait partager ses connaissances avec les générations futures ».

« Sous la direction d’Olivier Saillard, l’avenir de la Fondation atteindra les objectifs les plus ambitieux, avec expositions, conférences, cours et bourses  Alaïa. Archiver cette immense  collection est la première étape et la partie cruciale du processus pour réaliser le rêve d’Azzedine ».

Carla Sozzani et Christoph von Weyhe

LES COURS DU MASTER

Le Partenariat de la Fondation avec la Parsons School

 

Depuis 2019, la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa et l’école d’art et de design Parsons Paris, se sont associées dans le cadre d’un partenariat de recherches portant sur l’incroyable collection qu’a constituée Azzedine Alaïa. Cette collaboration vise à faire connaître l’une des plus importantes collections historiques de mode de Haute Couture dans le monde, tout en présentant aux étudiants les principes et les idéologies propres à l’archivage de la mode.

Faisant partie de la Parsons School of Design de New York, le Master en Fashion Studies à Parsons Paris est le premier programme de Master dans ce domaine en France, et l’un des rares à l’échelle mondiale. La mode y est abordée comme un phénomène culturel impliquant toutes les pratiques liées à la production, la diffusion, la représentation et la consommation de vêtements. Le programme Fashion Studies se concentre notamment sur les questions de mondialisation, de développement durable, de conservation du patrimoine, d’identité et de la consommation quotidienne de vêtements, de l’innovation technologique, de l’avenir de la mode numérique, etc. Une attention particulière est accordée à l’interaction entre la pratique et la théorie et les étudiants abordent tous ces sujets lors de séminaires, conférences et master-classes animés par des universitaires et des praticiens de la mode.

Le cours du Master entre la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa et la Parson School porte sur les modes d’archivage des pièces couture de la collection privée rassemblée par le couturier. Cette collection riche de plus de 8000 pièces historiques d’exception griffées Paul Poiret, Elsa Schiaparelli, Madame Grès ou Madeleine Vionnet, mais aussi de designers avant-gardistes de la fin du XXe siècle (Martin Margiela, Comme des Garçons et Yohji Yamamoto) est en cours d’inventaire.

« Il s’agit d’une opportunité unique pour les étudiants en Fashion Studies à la Parsons School of Design. Les archives de Monsieur Alaïa sont les plus exhaustives et uniques de l’histoire de la mode. Elles ne représentent pas seulement une histoire de la couture, mais elles sont aussi un témoignage crucial de la manière dont Azzedine Alaïa a assemblé, réuni et mis en dialogue différents stylistes et couturiers, à la façon d’un curator. Les archives de la mode ne sont pas seulement des assemblages de pièces et de vêtements ; elles sont également une opportunité de repenser la mode et la manière dont elle demeure et se transmet dans le temps. »
 Marco Pecorari, Directeur du programme de maîtrise en études de mode, The New School Parsons Paris.

2020 « ARCHIVER LA MODE » PAUL POIRET

sous la direction de Marco Pecorari

 

Une de mes amies, Françoise Auguet a organisé la vente de vêtements de la collection Poiret. La famille voulait tout vendre, tout ce que Madame Poiret avait porté et qui avait enchanté le tout Paris. Ça m’a brisé le cœur. J’admirais beaucoup son mari.

  • azzedine alaïa dans sa galerie ph. fondation azzedine alaïa

  • exposition paul poiret, galerie azzedine alaïa ph. fondation azzedine alaïa

  • exposition paul poiret, galerie azzedine alaïa ph. fondation azzedine alaïa

  • exposition paul poiret, galerie azzedine alaïa ph. fondation azzedine alaïa

Les étudiants de la Parsons Paris ont été invités à travailler sur la valeur économique et culturelle de la mode. Cette dernière a beaucoup évolué ces trente dernières années. La mode a commencé à être de plus en plus fréquemment exposée dans les musées. Les grandes maisons de ventes aux enchères ont ouvert des départements de mode et organisent régulièrement des ventes de vêtements, d’accessoires et de photographies de mode. Les maisons de couture ont pris conscience de l’importance de préserver leurs archives, et elles organisent de plus en plus d’événements et d’activités autour de leur propre patrimoine, tandis que des fondations privées ou des musées dédiés aux créateurs de mode émergent.

Azzedine Alaïa a été précurseur en prenant très tôt conscience de cette valeur patrimoniale : dès la création de sa maison, il a gardé scrupuleusement tout ce qui sortait de son atelier et il a initié dès 1968 sa collection de mode historique.

J’ai proposé mon espace à cette amie pour choisir les vêtements, les nettoyer et les exposer. J’ai suggéré d’inviter des photographes pour s’assurer qu’il y ait une trace de ça. À la fin, l’exposition a eu lieu. On a découvert des pièces d’une qualité remarquable, et il y a même eu un catalogue. C’était fantastique.

Pour traiter ce sujet, la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa a offert un très beau sujet d’étude aux étudiants du Master, celui de l’une des plus importantes ventes aux enchères de mode : « La Création en Liberté. Univers de Paul et Denise Poiret » organisée par la maison de vente Piasa Paris en mai 2005, avec le concours de Monsieur Alaïa qui présenta au 18 rue de la Verrerie une grande exposition de la collection Poiret. Cette vente a fait date dans l’histoire des ventes aux enchères de mode.

Les étudiants du Master ont travaillé sur la portée historique de cette vente pour les musées et les collectionneurs, tout en ayant l’opportunité d’étudier des pièces issues de cette vente historique, achetées par Azzedine Alaïa et conservées par la Fondation.

La restitution de leurs travaux est attendue en décembre 2020, avec une publication.

  • archiver la mode © parsons paris

  • archiver la mode © parsons paris

  • gaël mamine © parsons paris

  • gaël mamine © parsons paris

  • archiver la mode © parsons paris

2019 « ARCHIVER LA MODE » CRISTÓBAL BALENCIAGA

en collaboration avec le Costume Institute du  Metropolitan Museum of New York,  sous la direction de Jessica Glasscock et Marco Pecorari

J’ai commencé à collectionner en 1968 quand Balenciaga a fermé sa maison. J’étais déjà rue de Bellechasse. Une des robes venait du défilé de 1955. Il y avait les étiquettes avec les noms des mannequins. Tout d’un coup, j’ai eu ce choc sur la haute couture. J’ai dit : C’est triste que la maison ferme, et que tout disparaisse. Alors j’ai commencé à collectionner.

Sous la direction de Jessica Glasscock, chercheuse associée au Costume Institute du Metropolitan Museum de New York, les étudiants ont été initiés au 1er semestre aux pratiques de catalogage avant de réfléchir à des innovations pour l’indexation des archives des musées. En se concentrant sur des pièces de Cristóbal Balenciaga rassemblées par les soins d’Azzedine Alaïa, les élèves ont aussi exploré les moyens de documentation à travers des enregistrements textuels, visuels et oraux.

balenciaga ph. DR

Pendant trois semaines, du 1 juillet au 18 juillet 2019, les étudiants ont eu l’occasion unique de travailler sur une des plus grandes collections de mode, dans les archives de la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa. Le cours a exploré les collections historiques recueillies par Azzedine Alaïa au cours de sa vie, avec un accent particulier sur une partie de sa collection Balenciaga.
Lors de la semaine de la Haute Couture 2019 à Paris, la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa et l’école Parsons Paris on fait  la première conférence de leur programme éducatif « Archiver la Mode » et ont présenté leur premier cours d’été de Master dans la cour du 18 rue de la Verrerie, sur ce thème : « Archiver la mode ».

Cet évènement public a présenté la restitution du travail des étudiants et initié des échanges sur la pratique de l’archive du patrimoine de mode avec des spécialistes : Marie-Andrée Jouve (auteure et historienne de la mode), Christoph von Weyhe (Fondateur de la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa), Olivier Saillard (historien de la Mode, Fondation Azzedine Alaïa), et Jessica Glasscock (Costume Institute of The Metropolitan Museum of New York).

jessica Glasscock ph. Julien Mouffron-Gardner

« Je me sens extrêmement chanceuse d’avoir eu accès aux archives de la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa et, grâce à celles-ci et aux œuvres qu’il a rassemblées, d’avoir la possibilité d’enquêter sur un véritable couturier du XXe siècle. Je suis surtout ravie de mettre en relation les étudiants avec la vie de collectionneur de M. Alaïa. Je travaille dans les musées et en tant que professeure, enseignant les Fashion Studies depuis près de 20 ans, je sais quelle incroyable opportunité est offerte aux étudiants en ce moment. »
Jessica Glasscock, Associée de recherche, Costume Institute, Metropolitan Museum of New York.

  • archiver la mode © parsons paris

  • archiver la mode, tailleur Balenciaga © parsons paris

  • archiver la mode © parsons paris

  • archiver la mode © parsons paris

  • archiver la mode © marco pecorari

olivier saillard extrait de la conférence archiver la mode © fondation azzedine alaïa

ph. Julien Mouffron-Gardner