The World of Leïla Menchari

leïla menchari and azzedine alaïa, rue de Bellechasse ph. jean-pierre Ronzel

“I never had the feeling of having one day met Azzedine, he always seemed to have been a part of my life forever. My mother noticed his talent very early on.”  Leïla Menchari

The life paths of Leïla Menchari and Azzedine Alaïa have been intimately intertwined, united by an uninterrupted amicable and affectionate relationship which started very early on in the life of the designer.

While the young Azzedine Alaïa was still a student at the School of Fine Arts in Tunis, Leïla Menchari’s mother showed him, in person, a benevolence that would give him the reassurance to one day move to Paris.

Leïla, a young School of Fine Arts graduate, was also on the verge of moving to the French capital to subsequently become a model, illustrator, and artist. She would later become one of the most famous creators of the window displays at the Maison Hermès.

Leïla and Azzedine lived together in Paris and cultivated a strong bond spirit and creativity.Together, they both seized on the unique opportunities provided by their surrounding social and artistic networks.

More often than not, Leïla Menchari, with her ease in social situations, was able to accompany, support, and encourage the aspiring couturier Azzedine Alaïa even during the most vulnerable and fragile moments at the Maison Hermès. Leïla acted as a force of consistency in the artistic balance of the couturier. As Alaïa’s lifelong friend, she was involved in all of the important events in his life and was endowed with a strong personality. She was able to open Alaïa to other artistic perspectives while being a witness to his career and a driving force to his ambition.

leïla menchari and azzedine alaïa ph. jean-pierre Ronzel

The mother of my childhood friend, Leïla Menchari, knew a Dior client and asked her to help me get into the Maison. Azzedine Alaïa

“How could such a shy young boy, coming from the middle class, visited neither by European people nor the bourgeoisie, dressing the dolls of his sister Hafida, find himself frequenting high society?”  Leïla Menchari

 
With his best friend, the soul mate of the late Azzedine Alaïa, we would often meet up together. Each meeting with Leïla and Azzedine was a unique and unforgettable trip to the land of refinement and beauty. Jack Lang, former Minister of Culture, President of l’Institut du Monde Arabe, extract from from his tribute to Leïla Menchari, April 6, 2020.

leïla menchari, azzedine alaïa and christoph von weyhe, rue de Bellechasse ph. jean-pierre Ronzel

United by an unwavering friendship, Leïla and Azzedine were committed to defending and promoting shared interests, including:

• The identification, promotion and support of different forms of Tunisian, and more generally Mediterranean, craftsmanship and know-how;
• The emancipation and defense of women’s causes in Tunisia and the Mediterranean;
• Accompanying and supporting young talents and Tunisian fashion designers, which will later extend to the entire African continent.

The Leïla Menchari Endowment Fund and the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation are both working towards common objectives. At the wish of Leïla Menchari, this fund is chaired by Philippe Ginestié and supported by Mrs. Aïcha Ben Abeb, who has maintained great bonds of friendship and intellectual complicity with Leïla Menchari for over 30 years. Both women believed in investing in and representing Tunisian women in the world of art. This fund will participate in the promotion of Tunisian art and craftsmanship, the promotion of women’s status in Tunisia, and undertaking charitable operations relating in particular to the sectors of health and education in Tunisia.

The objectives of “The World of Leïla Menchari” endowment fund are:

– Transmitting the memory of the life, work, and style of Leïla Menchari;

– Transmitting the memory of the success of two Tunisian immigrants in France, Leïla Menchari and Azzedine Alaïa, emphasizing the similarity of their respective approaches and destinies;

– Undertaking actions which promote the knowledge of the work and values of Leïla Menchari in connection to those of Azzedine Alaïa;

– Participating in the promotion and status of women in Tunisia;

– Undertaking charitable actions in Tunisia that may relate to health and education in particular.

 

FOUNDERS

AÏCHA BEN ABED
FONDATION AZZEDINE ALAÏA
PHILIPPE GINESTIÉ

PRESIDENT
Philippe Ginestié

CONSEIL
AÏCHA BEN ABED
FONDATION AZZEDINE ALAÏA
PHILIPPE GINESTIÉ
UGO SUPINO

Le monde de Leïla menchari

leïla menchari et azzedine alaïa, rue de Bellechasse ph. jean-pierre Ronzel

« Je n’ai jamais eu le sentiment d’avoir un jour rencontré Azzedine, tellement il me paraît faire partie de ma vie depuis toujours. Ma mère avait très tôt remarqué son talent. » Leïla Menchari

Les parcours de vie de Leïla Menchari et d’Azzedine Alaïa sont intimement liés, soudés par une relation amicale et affectueuse qui démarre très tôt dans la vie du couturier et qui ne s’est jamais interrompue.

Lorsque le jeune Azzedine Alaïa est encore étudiant à l’école des Beaux-Arts de Tunis, la mère de Leïla Menchari en personne, témoigne envers lui d’une bienveillance qui le conforte dans l’idée de se lancer à Paris.

Leïla, quant à elle, jeune diplômée des Beaux-Arts est sur le point de gagner également la capitale française pour y devenir consécutivement modèle, illustratrice, artiste, jusqu’à devenir l’auteure célèbre des plus belles vitrines de la maison Hermès.

Ensemble, Leïla et Azzedine s’installent à Paris et partagent créativement une communauté d’esprit forte. Ils ont à cœur de s’ouvrir ensemble aux réseaux mondains et artistiques qui se présentent opportunément à eux.

Plus qu’à son tour, Leïla Menchari, par aisance sociale, aura su accompagner, soutenir et encourager le couturier en devenir Azzedine Alaïa, y compris dans les moments les plus vulnérables et fragiles de sa Maison. Leïla aura su agir avec constance dans l’équilibre artistique du couturier. Elle est de tous les événements importants de la vie d’Alaïa, amie de toujours, dotée d’une personnalité forte qui a su ouvrir Alaïa lui-même à d’autres perspectives artistiques, Leïla était aussi ce personnage témoin et néanmoins acteur de l’ambition du couturier.

leïla menchari et azzedine alaïa ph. jean-pierre Ronzel

La mère de mon amie d'enfance Leïla Menchari connaissait une cliente de Dior, et lui a demandé de m'aider à y entrer. Azzedine Alaïa

« Comment un jeune garçon aussi timide, issu du quartier le plus populaire, fréquenté ni par la gent européenne, ni par la bourgeoisie locale, a-t-il pu accéder, en habillant les poupées de sa sœur Hafida, à ce que l’on appelait « le grand monde » ? » Leïla Menchari

 
« Avec son meilleur ami, son âme sœur, le si regretté Azzedine Alaïa, nous avions l’habitude de nous retrouver. Chaque rencontre avec Leïla et Azzedine était un voyage unique et inoubliable au pays du raffinement et de la beauté. » Jack Lang, ancien Ministre de la Culture, Président de l’Institut du Monde Arabe, extrait de son hommage à Leïla Menchari, le 6 avril 2020.

leïla menchari, azzedine alaïa et christoph von weyhe, rue de Bellechasse ph. jean-pierre Ronzel

Unis par une amitié indéfectible, Leïla et Azzedine avaient à cœur de défendre et promouvoir des intérêts partagés parmi lesquels:

• L’identification, la promotion et le soutien des différentes formes d’artisanat et de savoir-faire tunisien et plus généralement méditerranéen ;
• L’émancipation et la défense des causes féminines en Tunisie et en méditerranée ;
• L’accompagnement et le soutien des jeunes talents et créateurs de mode tunisienne qui s’étendra plus tard à tout le continent africain.

Le Fonds de dotation « Le Monde de Leïla Menchari », et la Fondation  Azzedine Alaïa vont à la rencontre d’objectifs communs. Souhaité par Leïla Menchari ce fonds est présidé par Philippe Ginestié et supporté par Madame Aïcha Ben Abeb qui a entretenu pendant 30 ans des liens de grande amitié et une complicité intellectuelle importante avec Leïla Menchari et a partagé avec elle des valeurs de femmes tunisiennes investies dans le monde de l’art. Toutes deux croyaient à l’importance de la représentation des femmes tunisiennes dans le monde artistique.
Le fonds s’occupera de participer à la valorisation de l’art et des artisans tunisiens, favoriser la promotion et le statut de la femme en Tunisie et d’y entreprendre des opérations caritatives pouvant avoir trait notamment dans les secteurs de la santé et l’éducation.

Les objectifs du fonds de dotation “Le Monde de Leïla Menchari” sont :

– Transmettre la mémoire de la vie, de l’œuvre et du style de Leïla Menchari ;

– Transmettre la mémoire de la réussite en France de deux immigrés tunisiens, Leïla Menchari et Azzedine Alaïa et mettre l’accent sur la similitude de leurs démarches et destins respectifs ;

– Entreprendre des actions favorisant la connaissance de l’œuvre et des valeurs de Leïla Menchari en lien avec celles d’Azzedine Alaïa ;

– Participer à la valorisation de l’art et des artisans tunisiens, en créant un prix annuel qui récompensera des femmes tunisiennes qui produisent des objets d’artisanat ;

– Favoriser la promotion et le statut de la femme en Tunisie.

– Entreprendre des actions caritatives en Tunisie pouvant avoir trait notamment à la santé et à l’éducation.

 

FONDATEURS

AÏCHA BEN ABED
FONDATION AZZEDINE ALAÏA
PHILIPPE GINESTIÉ

PRÉSIDENT
Philippe Ginestié

CONSEIL
AÏCHA BEN ABED
FONDATION AZZEDINE ALAÏA
PHILIPPE GINESTIÉ
UGO SUPINO