Publications

With Louise de Vilmorin there were many things to learn, and intellectually it was marvellous. She would pick up a book and read it to me when we’d go off travelling together. Azzedine Alaïa

Azzedine Alaïa ph. Lord Snowdon, 1990

Azzedine Alaïa had a real passion for books, and he collected them in the same way that he collected works of art and the garments of the great couturiers that he admired.

He had overseen himself every detail of the creation and publication of his book ALAÏA, featuring a cover by his friend, the painter Julian Schnabel. From Bruce Weber to Paolo Roversi, from Peter Lindbergh to Helmut Newton, the whole Alaïa universe is to be found in this very complete work, as well as images recounting moments of his life. A perfectionist when it came to books, just as he was in his work as a couturier, all of the photographs were taken especially for this book. He would change the selection of photographs every week, if not every day… he was never satisfied…. The creation of this book took almost ten years to complete before finally being published by Steidl in 1998.

Since then, a number of other books have followed, on subjects as varied as art, fashion, and photography, as well as the catalogues accompanying each exhibition in collaboration with Actes Sud, under the direction of Donatien Grau.

“Prendre le Temps” or “Taking Time” is the most recent publication by the Foundation, published by Rizzoli New-York. Azzedine Alaïa had conceived this project with Donatien Grau, thanks to whom the final book was able to come to fruition.

I accumulate books and I don’t have the time to read them. I dream of hiring someone to read to me. That would be truly the meaning of luxury, to have my own reader.

For its first exhibition of 2021, the Foundation is proud to celebrate two great talents who made history in photography and in fashion. The works of Peter Lindbergh and those of Azzedine Alaïa have been brought together and dialogue with one another in a community of spirit that has never weakened.

The following exhibition will be devoted to the history of Azzedine Alaïa from his arrival in France to his breakthrough 1982 New York show.

coming soon: Alaïa Afore Alaïa

Unveiling the history of Azzedine Alaïa before his milestone 1982 show, this book explores the growth of one of fashion’s most enigmatic icons. Azzedine Alaïa (1935–2017) was regarded as a genius of contemporary fashion. Edited by his closest friend, Carla Sozzani, and life partner, Christoph von Weyhe, this new volume explores Alaïa’s early life and career, from his native Tunisia and 1956 arrival in Paris, to his breakthrough 1982 New York show. From apprenticeships to encounters with Paris’s artistic, literary, and society crowds, this book pays homage to Alaïa’s creative evolution. This unique volume delves into rare archival materials, private photographs, and prominent publications to powerfully illustrate the fascinating journey of a fashion legend. Written by Laurence Benaïm, fashion expert, with texts by Olivier Saillard, French historian specializing in fashion and director of the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation, Carla Sozzani, co-founder and president of the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation and Christoph von Weyhe Azzedine Alaïa’s lifetime partner co-founder and vice-president of the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation.

Peter Lindbergh and Azzedine Alaïa, the photographer and the couturier, were unitedby their love of black, a love that they would cultivate alike, be it in silver print or in solidcolor garments. This book celebrates the two great talents who made history in
photography and in fashion.

azzedine alaïa, peter lindbergh exhibition catalogue - 2021

In 2020 the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation celebrates Azzedine Alaïa and Cristóbal Balenciaga with many silhouettes selected and presented for the first time together, the work of one master of cut face to face with another, both equally skilled.

The year before the Foundation gallery showed the creations of Azzedine Alaïa in dialogue with the creations of Gilbert Adrian. Monsieur Alaïa was a fervent admirer of the work of Adrian, who worked as a costume director in Hollywood during the golden age of cinema of the 1930’s.

This exhibition shows how the taste for timeless elegance, the quest for style before fashion, and the perfection of cut, can be passed on between two great couturiers.

The previous exhibition was devoted to the story of an unprecedented collaboration in the world of fashion, with the “Tati collection”. Azzedine Alaïa created a collection inspired by the popular vichy canvas awning fabric, proving that there are no materials are unworthy of attention.

alaïa and Balenciaga: sculptors of shape exhibition catalogue - 2020

This original catalogue presents an analysis of the works of Alaïa and Balenciaga as well as more historical texts concerning the lives and career paths of the two great couturiers.

adrian and alaïa : the art of tailoring exhibition catalogue - 2019

For the first time the designs of Azzedine Alaïa converse with those of Gilbert Adrian.
Legendary American couturier, Gilbert Adrian was the costume director for Metro Goldwyn Mayer in Hollywood during the ‘golden age’ of cinema of the 1930’s. His work became synonymous with Hollywood glamour.
This exhibition shows how the taste for timeless elegance, the quest for a certain style before fashion, the perfection of cut, can be passed on from one great couturier to another though separated by decades and continents.

 

Another way to look at fashion : the Tati Collection exhibition catalogue - 2019

Azzedine Alaïa’s Spring-Summer 1991 is today better known as the “Tati collection”.

The couturier had effectively created a collected in the emblematic pink and white Vichy check awning canvas of the popular low price store in Barbès. The Alaïa-Tati print collection is now considered to be a major realization in fashion history.

 

azzedine, bruce, joe - 2018

The friendship of Azzedine, Bruce, and Joe goes back to the early 1980’s, along with many stories and photographs found in this book. The collection of pictures is an homage to Azzedine made by friends that Azzedine admired and to whom he was very close.

The book, conceived as a cherished project of Azzedine in 2017, is the story of time and friendship between three people who loved and admired each other. Few months after his death, Bruce and Joe dedicate it to this friendship and their abiding love for Azzedine.

In 2017 the Azzedine Alaïa gallery hosted two exhibitions, the first was dedicated to the work of Pascalejandro, the result of the collaboration between Alejandro Jodorowsky the filmmaker and poet, and Pascale Montandon-Jodorowsky, the painter, photographer, and costume and set designer.

The second honored the work of Richard Wentworth, who spent two years documenting life behind the scenes at the couture house of Azzedine Alaïa.

pascalejandro, alchemical androgynous exhibition catalogue - 2017

Pascalejandro is an artist in his own right, the result of the close collaboration between Alejandro Jodorowsky (the line) and Pascale Montandon-Jodorowsky (the color).
Extending the exhibition edited by Azzedine Alaïa, this catalogue brings together for the first time all of his work. In the course of the pages we will discover a vivacious work, traversed by mythical, metaphysical references.

 

richard wentworth à la maison alaïa exhibition catalogue - 2017

For three years Richard Wentworth follow Azzedine Alaïa in his studio and in the Alaïa house. With discretion he knew how to immortalize the life of this couture house and give a new and very personal vision, a kind of mapping of this immense space in the Marais and the world of the couturier.
“Sewing is not just a medium : it’s a world to read and write, that Richard Wentworth, with Azzedine Alaïa, invites us to discover.” Donatien Grau

 

In 2016, the Azzedine Alaïa gallery hosted successively four important exhibitions:

“Between art and fashion, photographs from the collection of Carla Sozzani”, presented for the first time at the Azzedine Alaïa gallery, some 200 photographs spanning from the 19th century to present day, selected by Fabrice Hergott from the collection of Carla Sozzani.

“Claude Parent, Drawing fashion” exposed another facet of the great architect Claude Parent, who began his career working as an illustrator of fashion. From the summer of 2015 to February 2016, he had undertaken a series of fashion drawings inspired by the creations of Azzedine Alaïa.

“Christoph von Weyhe, Au silence” celebrated the large scale gouache paintings of the artist and painter Christoph von Weyhe, who has been working for a great many years on his favorite subject, the port of Hamburg, and who kindly allowed us to contemplate his masterful works full of poetry.

“Pierre Guyotat, la matière de nos œuvres “, exhibited his texts and drawings in dialogue with the works of visual artists such as Miquel Barceló, Daniel Buren, Christoph von Weyhe, and Jean-Luc Moulène.

Between art & fashion, photographs from the collection of Carla Sozzani exhibition catalogue - 2016

The exhibition «Between Art and Fashion» at the Azzedine Alaïa gallery, presents for the first time nearly 200 photos from the Carla Sozzani collection and selected by Fabrice Hergott. Photographs from the 19th century to the present day, from Man Ray to Helmut Newton, from Moholo-Nagy to Francesca Woodman, from Daido Moriyama to Alfred Stiegliz:a vision of the world, of woman, of beauty.

With more than 350 pages in uncoated paper, the book features the reproductions of all the pictures, a foreword by Azzedine Alaïa, a conversation led by Fabrice Hergott with Carla Sozzani, and seven essays by some of international contemporary critics and scholars like Barbara Carnevali, Germano Celant, Emanuele Coccia, William A. Erwing, Donatien Grau and Jean Louis Scheffer.

claude parent, dessiner la mode exhibition catalogue - 2016

It is a little-known fact that the legendary architect began his career as a fashion illustrator.

From the summer of 2015 to February 2016, Claude Parent had undertaken a series of fashion drawings inspired by the creations of Azzedine Alaïa ; these ink drawings, reworked with his grandson Laszlo Parent, are traced over by a silver line which highlights the forgotten oblique dynamic of the garment, are each an attempt to understand an art that he considered to be not far removed from his own – an art of living.

 

 

christoph von weyhe, au silence exhibition catalogue - 2016

The catalogue of the eponymous exhibition Au silence organised by the Azzedine Alaïa Gallery presents Christoph von Weyhe’s large-format gouaches.For years, the artist returns to the port of Hamburg and transcribes it into painting.
He first captures the moment with gouache and back in his Parisian studio reinvents the initial sensations through paintings full of poetry “where black,the shade it works as a material, dialogue with white and flashes of color”.

Pierre Guyotat, la matière de nos œuvres exhibition catalogue - 2016

Under the direction of Donatien Grau, this catalogue dedicated to the eponymous exhibition of 2016 at the Azzedine Alaïa gallery is the result of a major collaboration with the National Library of France, where the Pierre Guyotat archives are kept.

This book testifies to a fertile dialogue between the texts of the writer Pierre Guyotat and the works of artists such as Miquel Barceló, Christoph von Weyhe, or Jean-Luc Moulène.
Book and exhibition have thus made it possible for the first time to highlight the extraordinary source that the work of this author represents for French and international artists.

In 2015, the Azzedine Alaïa gallery exhibited the visual work of Adonis, one of the greatest living poets, with ninety illustrations and texts to accompany and shed more light on the works displayed.

This publication will be followed by the book accompanying the exhibition « Kris Ruhs, Hanging Garden ».

In the course of that same year, the Association Azzedine Alaïa and Carla Sozzani Editore published two superb catalogues to accompany the exhibition “couture/sculpture” at the gallery of the Villa Borghese in Rome.

A. L'œuvre graphique d'adonis exhibition catalogue - 2015

This book invites the reader to enter into the secret of the creation of Adonis, one of the greatest living poets:the visual work. Since the late 1990s, the poet has brought collages, calligraphy and objects to the world. The exhibition traces nearly twenty years of creation with eighty illustrations and texts to explain and accompany:a long conversation of Adonis with Azzedine Alaïa and the artist Adel Abdessemed exposes the universe of forms that inhabits the poet,critical essays put this work into perspective.

This catalogue, published on the occasion of an exhibition organized by Azzedine Alaïa, is the first of the couturier with Actes Sud.

hanging garden, kris ruhs exhibition catalogue - 2015

With “Hanging Garden”, Kris Ruhs presents a holistic installation of some forty-five thousand pieces of porcelaine and copper, all made by hand.

The catalogue, published by the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation and Carla Sozzani Editore, includes numerous views of the installation, a conversation with the artist, and a critical essay by Donatien Grau.

azzedine alaïa couture/sculpture exhibition catalogue - 2015

The exhibition “couture/sculpture” offers a dialogue between the “flexible sculptures” of the great couturier Azzedine Alaïa and the Greco-Roman-inspired sculptures that are exhibited in the gallery of the Borghese villa.
The sensuality of feminine haute couture is exposed in the midst of the naked bodies of Bernini and other prestigious sculptors.

azzedine alaïa couture/sculpture exhibition catalogue - 2015

Azzedine Alaïa’s creations are exhibited at the Galleria Borghese among the masterpieces of great Renaissance masters such as Bernini, Titian and Caravaggio.

Publications

Avec Louise de Vilmorin, il y avait beaucoup de choses à apprendre, et intellectuellement, c’était merveilleux. Elle prenait un livre et me le lisait quand on partait en voyage ensemble. Azzedine Alaïa

Azzedine Alaïa ph. Lord Snowdon, 1990

Azzedine Alaïa vouait une passion aux livres, qu’il collectionnait au même titre que les œuvres d’art et les vêtements des grands couturiers qu’il admirait.

Il avait supervisé lui-même l’édition de son livre ALAÏA, dont la couverture a été faite par son ami, le peintre Julian Schnabel.De Bruce Weber à Paolo Roversi, de Peter Lindbergh à Helmut Newton, tout son univers se retrouve dans cet ouvrage ainsi que l’histoire de sa vie en images.Perfectionniste dans les livres comme pour son travail de couturier, toutes les séances photos ont été réalisées exprès pour ce livre.Il changeait les photos toutes les semaines, si ce n’est tous les jours… il n’en était jamais satisfait… la réalisation de ce livre a duré presque dix ans avant d’être enfin publié par Steidl en 1998.

De nombreux livres ont suivi, dans des domaines aussi variés que l’art, la mode et la photographie, ainsi que les catalogues des expositions réalisées en collaboration avec Actes Sud, sous la direction de Donatien Grau.

Depuis 2018, la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa continue la publication de projets à l’image de ses souhaits, en publiant plusieurs livres avec des éditeurs majeurs et sa propre maison d’édition.

« Prendre le Temps » est la dernière publication en date, éditée par Rizzoli New-York. Ce projet, il l’avait conçu avec Donatien Grau et c’est grâce à ce dernier qu’il a pu aboutir.

J’accumule les livres et n’ai pas le temps de les lire. Je rêve d’engager quelqu’un pour me faire la lecture. Le vrai luxe serait d’avoir un lecteur.

A l’occasion de la première exposition de l’année 2021, la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa est heureuse de célébrer deux talents qui ont écrit une page de l’histoire de la photographie et de la mode. Les œuvres de Peter Lindbergh et celles d’Azzedine Alaïa sont réunies et conversent dans une communauté d’esprit qui n’a jamais faibli.

L’exposition suivante sera consacrée aux débuts de la carrière d’Azzedine Alaïa depuis son arrivée en France jusqu’à son défilé révolutionnaire de 1982 à New York.

à venir: Alaïa avant Alaïa

Dévoilant l’histoire d’Azzedine Alaïa avant son grand défilé de 1982, ce livre explore la carrière de l’une des icônes les plus énigmatiques de la mode. Azzedine Alaïa (1935-2017) était considéré comme un génie de la mode contemporaine. Édité par son amie la plus proche, Carla Sozzani, et son compagnon de vie, Christoph von Weyhe, ce nouveau volume explore les débuts de la vie et de la carrière d’Azzedine Alaïa, depuis sa Tunisie natale et son arrivée à Paris en 1956, jusqu’à son défilé révolutionnaire de 1982 à New York. Des apprentissages aux rencontres avec les milieux artistiques, littéraires et mondains de Paris, ce livre rend hommage à l’évolution créative d’Alaïa. Ce volume unique s’appuie sur des documents d’archives rares, des photographies privées et des publications de premier plan pour illustrer avec force le parcours fascinant d’une légende de la mode. Écrit par Laurence Benaïm experte en mode et avec des textes de Olivier Saillard historien français spécialiste de la mode et directeur de la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa, Carla Sozzani  co-fondatrice et présidente de la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa et Christoph von Weyhe, partenaire de vie d’Azzedine Alaïa co-fondateur et vice-président de la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa.

 

Peter Lindbergh et Azzedine Alaïa, le photographe et le couturier, se sont retrouvés dans l’affection pour le noir qu’ils cultivent de manière égale en tirages argentiques ou en aplats vestimentaires. Ce livre célèbre les deux talents qui ont écrit une page de l’histoire de la photographie et de la mode.

catalogue de l'exposition azzedine alaïa, peter Lindbergh - 2021

En 2020 la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa met à l’honneur Azzedine Alaïa et Cristóbal Balenciaga avec de nombreux modèles sélectionnés et présentés pour la première fois dans un face-à-face équivalent entre ces deux maîtres de la coupe.

L’année précédente la galerie de la Fondation expose en dialogue les créations d’Azzedine Alaïa et de Gilbert Adrian. Monsieur Alaïa était un fervent admirateur du travail d’Adrian, qui était le directeur des costumes à Hollywood pendant l’âge d’or du cinéma des années 30.
Cette exposition nous montre comment le goût pour l’élégance intemporelle, la quête d’un style avant celle de la mode et l’exigence de la coupe, peuvent se transmettre entre deux grands couturiers.

En 2019 une exposition était consacrée à l’histoire d’une collaboration inédite dans le monde de la mode, avec la « collection Tati ». Azzedine Alaïa réalise une collection inspirée de la populaire toile de bâche vichy, laquelle prouve qu’il n’y a pas de matériaux méprisable.

catalogue de l'exposition alaïa et Balenciaga : Sculpteurs de la forme - 2020

Ce catalogue inédit présente une analyse des œuvres d’Alaïa et de Balenciaga ainsi que des textes plus historiques sur l’itinéraire des deux grands couturiers.

catalogue de l'exposition adrian et alaïa : l'art du tailleur - 2019

Pour la première fois les modèles d’Azzedine Alaïa conversent avec ceux de Gilbert Adrian.
Couturier américain mythique, Gilbert Adrian était le directeur des costumes à la Metro Goldwyn Mayer à Hollywood pendant « l’âge d’or » du cinéma des années 1930. Son travail devint synonyme du glamour hollywoodien.
Cette exposition montre comment le goût pour l’élégance intemporelle, la quête d’un style avant celle de la mode, l’exigence de la coupe, peuvent se transmettre entre deux grands couturiers que les décennies et les continents séparent.

catalogue de l'exposition azzedine alaïa, une autre pensée sur la mode : la collection tati - 2019

La collection Printemps-Été 1991 d’Azzedine Alaïa est aujourd’hui mieux connue sous le nom de « collection Tati ».

Le couturier avait en effet conçu une collection dans la toile de bâche Vichy au motif pied-de-coq blanc et rose emblématique de la populaire enseigne de Barbès. La collection imprimée Alaïa-Tati est maintenant considérée comme une réalisation majeure dans l’histoire de la mode.

azzedine, bruce, joe - 2018

Au début des années 80, Azzedine Alaïa, Bruce Weber et Joe McKenna vont se lier d’une grande amitié ; ce livre raconte ses prémisses à travers des anecdotes et des photographies de cette époque.

Cet ouvrage, collection d’images, est un hommage à Azzedine Alaïa réalisé par ses amis Bruce et Joe qu’il admirait beaucoup et dont il était très proche.

Ce livre, conçu en 2017, était un projet qui tenait très à cœur à Azzedine Alaïa. C’est l’histoire du temps, celle d’une amitié qui unissait trois hommes dans l’affection et l’admiration.

En 2017 la galerie Azzedine Alaïa héberge deux expositions, la première consacrée au travail de Pascalejandro, né de la collaboration entre Alejandro Jodorowsky cinéaste, poète et Pascale Montandon-Jodorowsky, peintre, photographe et créatrice de costumes et décors.

La seconde met à l’honneur le travail de Richard Wentworth qui pendant deux ans a documenté les coulisses de la maison d’Azzedine Alaïa.

catalogue de l'exposition pascalejandro, l'androgyne alchimique - 2017

PascALEjandro est un artiste à part entière, fruit de la collaboration étroite entre Alejandro Jodorowsky (le trait) et Pascale Montandon-Jodorowsky (la couleur).
Prolongeant l’exposition montée par Azzedine Alaïa, ce catalogue rassemble pour la première fois l’ensemble de son œuvre. On découvrira au fil des pages une œuvre vivace, parcourue de références mythiques, métaphysiques.

catalogue de l'exposition richard wentworth à la maison alaïa - 2017

Pendant trois ans Richard Wentworth a pu pénétrer et suivre Azzedine Alaïa dans son atelier et dans la maison Alaïa. Avec discrétion il a su immortaliser la vie de cette maison de couture à nulle autre pareille et donner une vision inédite et très personnelle, une sorte de cartographie de cet immense espace dans le Marais et de l’univers du couturier.
«La couture n’est pas seulement un médium : c’est un monde à lire, et à écrire, que Richard Wentworth, avec Azzedine Alaïa, nous invite à découvrir.» Donatien Grau

En 2016, la galerie Azzedine Alaïa héberge successivement quatre grandes expositions:

« Entre l’art et la mode, photographies de la collection Carla Sozzani », présente pour la première fois à la galerie Azzedine Alaïa, près de 200 photos allant du 19ème siècle à nos jours, provenant de la collection Carla Sozzani et sélectionnées par Fabrice Hergott.

« Claude Parent, Dessiner la mode » met à jour une autre facette du grand architecte Claude Parent qui avait commencé sa carrière comme illustrateur de mode. De l’été 2015 à février 2016, il avait entrepris une série de dessins de mode inspirés des créations d’Azzedine Alaïa.

« Christoph von Weyhe, Au silence » met à l’honneur les gouaches grand format de l’artiste peintre Christoph von Weyhe, qui depuis des années travaille sur son thème de prédilection, le port de Hambourg et nous donne à voir  des œuvres magistrales pleines de poésies.

« Pierre Guyotat, la matière de nos œuvres », expose ses textes et dessins en regard avec les œuvres de plasticiens tels que Miquel Barceló, Daniel Buren, Christoph von Weyhe, ou Jean-Luc Moulène.

catalogue de l'exposition entre l'art et la mode, photographies de la collection carla sozzani - 2016

L’exposition « Entre l’art et la mode » à la galerie Azzedine Alaïa, présente pour la première fois près de 200 photos provenant de la collection Carla Sozzani et sélectionnées par Fabrice Hergott. Des photographies allant du 19ème siècle à nos jours, de Man Ray à Helmut Newton, de Moholo-Nagy à Francesca Woodman, de Daido Moriyama à Alfred Stiegliz: une vision du monde, de la femme, de la beauté.
Cet ouvrage de plus de 350 pages reproduit toutes les œuvres exposées avec une préface d’Azzedine Alaïa, et une conversation menée par Fabrice Hergott avec Carla Sozzani, ainsi que plusieurs essais de critiques contemporains et chercheurs comme Barbara Carnevali, Germano Celant, Emanuele Coccia, William A. Erwing, Donatien Grau and Jean Louis Scheffer.

 

catalogue de l'exposition Claude Parent, dessiner la mode - 2016

C’est un fait méconnu que le légendaire architecte avait commencé sa carrière comme illustrateur de mode.

De l’été 2015 à février 2016, Claude Parent avait entrepris une série de dessins de mode inspirés des créations d’Azzedine Alaïa ; ces dessins à l’encre, retravaillés avec son petit-fils Laszlo Parent, traversés d’une ligne d’argent marquant la dynamique oblique du vêtement, sont autant de tentatives pour comprendre un art qu’il considérait comme voisin du sien – un art de vivre.

 

catalogue de l'exposition christoph von weyhe, au silence - 2016

Le catalogue de l’exposition éponyme Au silence organisée par la Galerie Azzedine Alaïa présente l’ensemble des gouaches grand format de Christoph von Weyhe. Depuis des années, l’artiste retourne dans le port de Hambourg et le transcrit en peinture.
Il capture d’abord l’instant avec la gouache et de retour dans son atelier parisien réinvente les sensations initiales à travers des peintures pleines de poésie « où le noir, la teinte qu’il travaille comme une matière, dialogue avec le blanc et des éclats de couleur ».

catalogue de l'exposition Pierre Guyotat, la matière de nos œuvres - 2016

Sous la direction de Donatien Grau, ce catalogue consacré à l’exposition éponyme de 2016 à la galerie Azzedine Alaïa résulte d’une collaboration majeure avec la Bibliothèque Nationale de France, où sont conservées les archives Pierre Guyotat.
Ce livre témoigne d’un dialogue fertile entre les textes de l’écrivain Pierre Guyotat et les œuvres de plasticiens tels Miquel Barceló, Christoph von Weyhe, ou Jean-Luc Moulène.
Livre et exposition ont ainsi permis pour la première fois de mettre en évidence l’extraordinaire source que représente l’œuvre de cet auteur pour les artistes français et internationaux.

En 2015, la galerie Azzedine Alaïa expose l’œuvre visuelle d’Adonis, un des plus grands poètes vivants avec quatre-vingt illustrations et des textes pour éclairer et accompagner ces œuvres.

Cette publication sera suivie par celle de l’exposition « Kris Ruhs, Hanging Garden ».

Au cours de cette même année l’association Azzedine Alaïa et Carla Sozzani Editore publient deux superbes catalogues pour accompagner l’exposition « couture/sculpture » à la galerie de la villa Borghese à Rome.

catalogue de l'exposition A. L'œuvre graphique d'adonis - 2015

Cet ouvrage invite le lecteur à pénétrer dans le secret de la création d’Adonis, un des plus grands poètes vivants : l’œuvre visuelle. Depuis la fin des années 1990, le poète apporte au monde collages, calligraphies, objets. L’exposition retrace près de vingt années de création avec quatre-vingt illustrations et des textes pour éclairer et accompagner : une longue conversation d’Adonis avec Azzedine Alaïa et l’artiste Adel Abdessemed expose l’univers des formes qui habite le poète, des essais critiques remettent en perspective cette œuvre.

Ce catalogue, publié à l’occasion d’une exposition organisée par Azzedine Alaïa, constitue la première du couturier avec Actes Sud.

catalogue de l'exposition hanging garden, kris ruhs - 2015

Avec « Hanging Garden, Jardin Suspendu », Kris Ruhs présente une installation holistique composée de près de 45.000 pièces de porcelaine et de cuivre, toutes fabriquées à la main.

Le catalogue publié par la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa et Carla Sozzani Editore, inclut de nombreuses vues de l’installation, une conversation avec l’artiste, et un essai critique de Donatien Grau.

catalogue de l'exposition azzedine alaïa couture/sculpture - 2015

L’exposition « couture/sculpture » propose un dialogue entre les « sculptures souples » du grand couturier Azzedine Alaïa et les sculptures d’inspiration gréco-romaines qui sont exposées à la galerie de la villa Borghese.
La sensualité de la haute couture féminine est exposée en regard des corps nus du Bernin et d’autres sculpteurs prestigieux.

catalogue de l'exposition azzedine alaïa couture/sculpture - 2015

Les créations d’Azzedine Alaïa s’exposent à la Galleria Borghese parmi les chefs-d’œuvre de grands maîtres de la renaissance tels Le Bernin, le Titien et Caravage.

Restez informé
de l'actualité
de la Fondation

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS

Vos données personnelles seront utilisées par la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa pour vous envoyer la newsletter, que vous avez expressément demandé à recevoir. La Fondation Azzedine Alaïa protège vos données. Pour plus d'informations, consultez notre Politique de confidentialité.