Studio

I only draw to jot down my work so that I don’t forget. I make a pattern on calque paper, and I cut it out and attach it to a piece of paper with a pin. Then I begin working on a tailor’s dummy, but I need a person for the fittings. Because a woman walks, her body moves, and I need to see how the fabric behaves on her. Azzedine Alaïa

azzedine alaïa in his studio © azzedine alaïa foundation

His studio is located on the first floor, between his fitting room and his private living apartments. The studio remains exactly as he left it, with the last dress he was working on, on the tailor’s dummy.

It was always very overcrowded with things. There are shelves and hangers full of clothes, unfinished toiles, stacks of boxes piled up against the walls, rolls of fabric, things everywhere spread out on or under the tables, catalogues from auction houses… On the wall directly in front of his work table, photographs of his closest friends and the photograph of Oum Kalthoum. On the wall beside him, a large mirror for fittings.

Naomi Campbell and Azzedine Alaïa, fitting © azzedine alaïa foundation

For the fittings, I always ask the model to walk and to sit. My dresses must vibrate on their own. Women help me a lot ! The clothes must move in accordance with the body.

In 2023, on 26 February, the day Azzedine Alaïa was born, the Foundation will unveil to the public for the first time a place that has been kept secret since the designer’s death on 18 November 2017: Azzedine Alaïa’s Studio.

This is undoubtedly the place most imbued with the memory of Monsieur Alaïa: every corner of this room tells of the couturier but also of the man he was.

Visitors will now be able to discover Azzedine Alaïa’s Studio through a window, and imagine the couturier at work, day or night, in his den, and also dream of fitting sessions with the most beautiful models in the world.

view of azzedine Alaïa's studio ph. Sylvie Delpech

« A poetic Capernaum, where ideas are born and take shape, the atelier of Azzedine Alaïa, represents the heart within the body of the designer’s couture house and private apartments. In this island of creation, located on the first floor, nestled between his fitting room and his private living quarters, the atelier distills the memories of the most beautiful Alaïa collections. Since 1987, it is here in the place familiarly known as his studio that the couturier invents, conceives, cuts and molds the dresses that constitute the timeless architectures of fashion.

It is here, in this forest of racks of clothes in the making, dresses awaiting completion, that Azzedine Alaïa would find sanctuary in the evenings and late into the night. When the last of his friends would leave the kitchen, another hub of vitality in which resides much of the spirit of the Alaïa house, he would go upstairs and come to sit down at his worktable.

In his uniform of midnight black, Alaïa would set out to work through to the dawn. One would see him pinning the form of a sleeve, then nervously removing those same pointed pieces of metal, and to those not trained in the techniques of cut and pattern drafting, Alaïa.would seem much like a construction foreman. Graduated rulers, some curved like the backs of birds, serve the purpose of adjusting measurements that had become for him automatic writing. On this table, veritable mirror of the couturier’s hands, a geography of the body evolves each night. Pieces of fabric soon to become replicas and reflections of the arms, busts and hips that they would shortly caress. Into the small hours, Oum Kalthoum accompanies Azzedine in his mission. She sings as tirelessly as he cuts. On the red brick wall, Alaïa need only lift his gaze to see lifelong friends, fairy godmothers and muses who accompanied and supported him in the development of his art.  Arletty, Tina Turner, Naomi,  Veronica Webb, Stephanie Seymour, Carla Sozzani, Michèle Obama, Shakira, Bruce Weber, Charles Baudelaire … photographs like fallen leaves of a secret tree. To his right, a giant television screen broadcasts the wildlife documentaries that Alaïa particularly loves to watch.

azzedine Alaïa's studio ph. Sylvie Delpech

The following morning, the models can come back to him. In front of the large mirror surrounded by a gilt frame, fittings take place and corrections are applied. Alaïa pins together and takes apart on the sublime bodies jackets, coats, and evening dresses in various stages of completion yet no less sublime.

In this peculiar den where rolls of fabric muffle voices and footsteps, entire and notorious collections have been realized, eternal dresses have been born thanks to the great art of Alaïa, the last reigning couturier.

Already 5 years have passed since all here was brought to silence and covered with white dustsheets. Not a single garment, nor sketch, tool, pin, or needle has been touched.

It is now time to draw back these veils of discretion and reveal once more to the public, the atelier, fortress of ideas and imagination, of the couturier.

In a subtle scenography, the visitor will be able to perceive the spirit of this unique place where the laughter, joy and passion of an occupation and vocation seem to echo still. »

Olivier Saillard, Director of the Azzedine Alaïa Foundation

azzedine Alaïa's studio ph. Sylvie Delpech

When I am alone, I watch the news on televison, I watch National Geographic, or programs about history or about animals. And then I work until 6 o’clock in the morning, but I don’t feel tired because I am by myself and I am calm.

  • Azzedine Alaïa, fitting ph. Prosper assouline

  • Azzedine Alaïa, fitting, 1998 ph. prosper Assouline

  • azzedine alaïa in his studio ph. prosper Assouline

  • azzedine alaïa in his studio ph. jean-marie périer

Studio

Je dessine juste pour garder la mémoire de mon travail. Je trace un patron sur papier-calque, je le découpe et je l'accroche avec une épingle sur une feuille. Ensuite, je démarre sur un mannequin d'atelier, mais il faut quelqu'un pour l'essayage. Car une femme marche, son corps bouge, et j'ai besoin de voir comment le tissu se comporte sur elle. Azzedine Alaïa

azzedine alaïa dans son studio © fondation azzedine alaïa

Son studio est situé au premier étage, entre sa cabine d’essayage et ses appartements. Le studio est resté exactement comme il l’a laissé, avec la dernière robe sur laquelle il était en train de travailler, sur un mannequin.

Toujours très encombré, il y a des étagères et des cintres pleins de vêtements, des toiles non finies, des piles de boîtes entassées contre les murs, des rouleaux de tissu, des affaires partout étalées sur ou sous les tables, des catalogues des ventes aux enchères…. Sur le mur en face de sa table de travail, les photos de ses amis les plus proches et la photo de Oum Kalthoum. A son coté un grand miroir pour les essayages.

Naomi Campbell et Azzedine Alaïa, séance d'essayage © fondation azzedine alaïa

Pour mes essayages, je fais toujours marcher et asseoir le mannequin. Mes robes doivent vibrer d’elles-mêmes. Les femmes m’aident beaucoup ! Le vêtement doit être emporté par le corps.

En 2023, le 26 février, jour de naissance d’Azzedine Alaïa, la Fondation a dévoilé pour la première fois au public, un lieu tenu secret depuis la disparition du couturier le 18 novembre 2017 : le studio d’Azzedine Alaïa.

Il s’agit sans nul doute du lieu le plus empreint du souvenir de Monsieur Alaïa : chaque recoin de cette pièce raconte le couturier mais aussi l’homme qu’il était.

Les visiteurs pourront dorénavant découvrir le Studio d’Azzedine Alaïa au travers d’une fenêtre, et imaginer le couturier à l’œuvre, de jour comme de nuit, dans son antre, rêver aussi des séances d’essayage avec les plus belles mannequins du monde.

vue sur le studio d'azzedine Alaïa ph. Sylvie Delpech

« Capharnaüm poétique, où les idées naissent et prennent corps, l’atelier d’Azzedine Alaïa, représente un cœur au sein de la maison de couture et des appartements privés du couturier.

Dans cet ilot de création, situé au premier étage, pris en étau entre sa cabine d’essayage et les espaces privés, l’atelier concentre les souvenirs des plus belles collections de Alaïa.
Depuis 1987, c’est ici même dans ce que l’on a coutume d’appeler son studio que le couturier invente, conçoit, coupe et modélise ces robes qui sont des architectures hors des temps de la mode.

Ici même, dans cette forêt de portants et de vêtements en cours d’achèvement, Azzedine Alaïa a pour habitude de se réfugier tard le soir. Quand les derniers amis quittent la cuisine, autre endroit de vitalité et d’esprit des lieux, il monte l’escalier et vient s’accouder à sa table de travail.

Dans son uniforme bleu comme la nuit, Alaïa s’apprête à travailler jusqu’à l’aube. On peut le voir épingler une forme de manche, puis ôter nerveusement ces mêmes pointes de métal et pour qui n’est pas au fait des techniques de coupe et de modélisme, on croirait Alaïa devenu contremaître. Des règles graduées, parfois courbes comme le dos d’un oiseau, servent à des prises de mesures qui chez lui sont devenues écriture automatique. Sur cette table, véritable miroir des mains du couturier une géographie des corps s’élabore chaque soir. Des morceaux de tissus sont bientôt les doubles et les reflets des bras, des gorges et des hanches qu’ils vont caresser sous peu. Jusqu’à point d’heure Oum Kalthoum accompagne Azzedine dans sa mission. Elle chante aussi inlassablement qu’il coupe. Sur le mur de brique, le couturier n’a qu’à lever la tête pour retrouver ses amis de longues dates, fées, marraines et muses qui l’ont accompagné dans l’épanouissement de son art. Arletty, Tina Turner, Naomi, Veronica Webb, Stephanie Seymour, Carla Sozzani, Michèle Obama, Shakira, Bruce Weber, Charles Baudelaire …. sont les photos comme les feuilles d’un arbre secret tombées. À sa droite, un écran géant diffuse les reportages animaliers dont Alaïa est friand.

le studio d'azzedine alaïa ph. Sylvie Delpech

Au lendemain, les mannequins peuvent le retrouver. Devant le grand miroir orné d’un cadre or, s’exercent alors les essayages, les corrections. Alaïa fait et défait sur les corps somptueux des états de vestes, de manteaux et de robes du soir non moins somptueux.

Dans cet antre insolite où les rouleaux de tissus assourdissent les voix et les pas, des collections entières et célèbres ont été réalisées, des robes éternelles sont éclosent grâce au grand art de Alaïa, dernier couturier en titre.

Déjà cinq années qu’ici même tout a été tenu au silence, recouvert de draps blancs. Pas un vêtement, pas une esquisse, pas un outil, une aiguille qui n’aient été bougés.

Il est temps désormais de lever ces voiles de pudeur et de révéler au grand public l’atelier, forteresse des idées et de l’imagination du couturier.

Dans une scénographie subtile, le visiteur pourra percevoir l’esprit de ce lieu unique où les rires et les passions d’un métier semblent encore résonner. »

Olivier Saillard, directeur de la Fondation Azzedine Alaïa

le studio d'azzedine alaïa ph. Sylvie Delpech

 Quand je suis seul, je regarde les nouvelles à la télévision, je regarde National Geographic, des programmes sur l’Histoire ou les animaux. Et ensuite je travaille jusqu’à 6h du matin, je ne me sens pas fatigué parce que je suis seul et calme.

  • Azzedine Alaïa, séance d'essayage, 1998 ph. prosper Assouline

  • Azzedine Alaïa, séance d'essayage, 1998 ph. prosper Assouline

  • azzedine alaïa dans son studio ph. Prosper assouline

  • azzedine alaïa dans son studio ph. jean-marie périer